We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star experience at this gem of a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse

Save Saved
You added The Townhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Townhouse
Oven Wynd, Kelso TD5 7HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Five star experience at this gem of a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Townhouse at the beginning of August. The location is wonderful, right on a cobbled square which is at the centre of Kelso, which in itself is absolutely charming and feels a little like stepping back in time in the nicest way. Streets filled with independent shops, bakeries, butchers, and maybe it was just because it was a such a sunny morning and Kelso is so lovely you can't but help be in a good mood, but I don't think we saw a single empty shopfront. The Townhouse is just beautiful - the interiors will have you drooling - the furniture and fittings like you would see in a glossy magazine and I adored the bookcases that swept along the hallway. The masterstoke is though it is completely unstuffy and feels like a home. I wish we could have stayed a month. Christine the owner is warm and friendly and full of ideas about what to see and where to eat. She also cooks a breakfast to die for all served up in a gorgeous dining room at a communal table where you chat with the other guests and swap sightseeing tips. Two weeks afterwards I'm still thinking about The Townhouse. If you're thinking of going to the Scottish Borders don't miss this little gem. By the way a few minutes walk away is nearby pub restaurant Cobbles which has fab food at very pocket friendly prices. My kind of place. Plus also Floors Castle is at the edge of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Townhouse in early July and from start to finish found it an enjoyable experience. After parking nearby in a free car park, we asked if we could check-in slightly before the time on our booking - which the owner was happy to do and let us drop our bags off before going to explore the town.
The room was an excellent size, with a beautiful bathroom (including roll-top bath) straight across the hall and both were cool in the stifling July heat thanks to the sash windows being opened before we got there.
Breakfast was served family style on a large table and included delicious local bread and eggs, along with cereal, fruit and tea/coffee. Everything was served hot and very enjoyable.
The price was very reasonable, but had to be paid cash or cheque, which is something to be aware of.
Overall this was a lovely break and somewhere we would consider again for a holiday in the borders.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a wonderful little gem. The Victorian built house is furnished and decorated in excellent style. Christine the owner could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The room was fantastic, although, I believe we were not in the best room. The breakfast was exceptional and served with a smile. We would certainly return to this hotel when next in Kelso.

Room Tip: Parking could be a problem if you arrive on a busy day. There is no swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst down for a family wedding in the lovely market town of Kelso. The Townhouse is a beautifully-presented Georgian home overlooking the cobbled town square and must be among the nicest B&Bs in the country. The room had everything you'd need for a short stay and the period decor throughout was really lovely. The shower-room had good quality contemporary fittings and the gorgeous shower contrasted nicely with some fab period wallpaper to give a really luxurious feel. The 'family-style' breakfasting around a large table with the other guests allowed for a relaxed start to the day, and the breakfast options were many and varied. Host Christine has a lovely calm manner that really adds to the relaxing feel of the place, and was so helpful and accomodating with our booking that she really sets a high standard that other establishments will find hard to match. A great place !

Room Tip: Our room was the only one not en-suite. Not a massive problem, as you are given sole use of the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinweb, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay.

kind regards

christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at The Townhouse just for one night, to attend a family party in the area. We were very impressed with everything, the room, bathroom and the quality of the furniture and towels. Breakfast was fantastic and Christine more than happy to accommodate any request. View over the square at breakfast was really nice.
Kelso was quiet even on a Saturday afternoon, although most of shops closed a little earlier than we would have expected.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hogarth room and would recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed in the Old Townhouse twice now and shame on me for not reviewing last time! I was there again this week, heading to Kelso Races and had the grand room. It's totally sumptuous, the bed is huge and felt like I was lying on a cloud - didn't want to leave it! The ensuite is a great size, had the fluffiest towels and great toiletries! Breakfast was just exactly as I'd requested although I could have feasted for an hour! Make this your base while exploring the area, you'd be hard pushed to find better. Christine is a a treasure and knows all the best places to go! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a couple of very cosy nights at this luxury end bed & breakfast - tucked just off the main square. Room was the grand one overlooking the square, good for watching the Kelso life go by outside. Peaceful and comfortable stay, echoing previous comments. Christine was the perfect host, handy with recommendations about the local scene and more than happy to accommodate my request for kippers at breakfast. Kelso is a pleasant borders town with several interesting shops and a plethora of cafes and restaurants - 'Cobbles' serves good pub grub and is the outlet for a micro brewery ..........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinweb, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, I really appreciate the feedback and very pleasing to know that you enjoyed staying here.

kind regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: Oven Wynd, Kelso TD5 7HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Bed and Breakfast with Georgian charm in the centre of Kelso walking distance for all local restaurants. Two letting rooms one with double en suite shower and one with lovely private bathroom with ball and claw bath. All rooms have TV's with free-view channels and WiFi. Delicious breakfast included in the room price.The house was constructed in 1790 and is in the conservation area of Kelso the house is listed, having now been tastefully modernized it still retains great charm. The two rooms, one called The Square overlooks the Kelso main square and has a double size en suite shower room and a very comfortable emperor sized bed, the cost for renting this room is £115 per night including breakfast.The other room called The Grain Store is at the rear of the house and has a private bathroom and a king sized bed,a further twin room is available if taken with the Grain Store and the bathroom is shared. Its a great house if you are visiting Kelso for Racing, Fishing, Golfing, attending a wedding or just visiting the area for a few days or indeed passing through on the way North.The house is right in the centre of Kelso and sits above Orvis for those of you who know the Square, but its entrance is down the cobbled Oven Wynd. Its a town centre location and most times its very peaceful but occasionally when events are taking place in Kelso it can be a bit noisy on a Saturday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Kelso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.