We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craiglinnhe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craiglinnhe House
Save
You added Craiglinnhe House to your Saves list
Lettermore, Ballachulish PH49 4JD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This B&B has a nice location overlooking the water and mountains. Although the rooms are a little on the small size, they are tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The proprietors are very friendly and the property has a nice home-like feel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Scotland and stayed at Craiglinnhe for two nights. The house is beautiful and the views were spectacular. Our room was perfect with wonferful views of Loch Linnhe and breakfast was great. The owners were very helpful in suggesting the day's activities -- we hiked one day in Glencoe, which was amazing, and drove around Loch Leven for a wonderful seafood meal. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We picked this place from the magazine and it was excellent. Too late to get the best views but very happy with the owners, food and location. Excellent advice on what to do. Our best overall guest house experience on our trip from Australia.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Superb location being less than 30 minutes to Fort William and 10 minutes to Glencoe. Wonderful and welcoming hosts. They even helped us out with hiking information/maps and packed us a lunch for our hike up Ben Nevis. Wonderful clean rooms with beautiful view of Loch and mountains. We did have concerns that it would be noisy being so close to the road, but we did not hear the cars.
The breakfasts were so generous that we were able to skip lunch everyday! We stayed 4 nights and wish it could have been more. Recommended them to my parents who will be going in September 2012. I can't wait to go back. -J and J from New York

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the road as you will have a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed two nights at Craiglinnhe House and were fortunate to be upgraded to a front room with views over the loch. The house has a charming air about it, with lovely breakfast room and sitting room, both looking out over the loch. The main road runs between the house and the loch, but we didn't find it to be noisy. Our hosts recommended The Holly Tree restaurant for dinner and it proved to be an excellent choice. The Craiglinnhe is a good option for those who want to be relatively close to Fort William without the hustle and bustle of a busy tourism town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Beautiful place, very nice people, lovely room, very clean place, excellent breakfast, sound hiking advise. We stayed there for 2 nights on a hiking weekend, and we will definitely go back there at some stage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a very warm welcome from Beverly, David and Mousse (the Labrador). We enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal of smoked salmon pâté , loin of pork with porcini mushrooms and poached pears with chocolate sauce. Just what we needed to start our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craiglinnhe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craiglinnhe House

Address: Lettermore, Ballachulish PH49 4JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglinnhe is a charming, late-Victorian villa, built in 1885 from local granite. The house sits in attractive gardens by the shores of Loch Linnhe surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery. Our Visit Scotland 4 star grading acknowledges our high standards of comfort and quality. The five bedrooms are furnished with taste and care and are equipped with TV/DVD, IPhone/iPad docking, hospitality tray and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craiglinnhe House Ballachulish, Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craiglinnhe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.