We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Victorian house tastefully renovated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creag Mhor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Creag Mhor Lodge to your Saves list
Creag Mhor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   North Ballachulish, Ballachulish PH33 6RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Lovely Victorian house tastefully renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful large rooms in this Victorian lodge full of period features. Extremely comfortable lounge with well stocked bar and plenty of reading matter. Excellent breakfast in another lovely room . There was a super selection of fruit and breads
Our room on the ground floor had beautiful views over the hills and the loch. It was very spacious and so was the bathroom which had a very good shower but no bath. Nicely decorated room with appealing pictures . Wi fi free and simple to work but a little patchy reception
Pleasant staff . Car parking

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    45
    16
    2
    7
See reviews for
41
168
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We knew roughly where we wanted to stop on our driving holiday but couldn't decide on where specifically and we ended up going for this one mainly due to the reviews. I don't think the reviews do this place justice. It's an old lodge which is much bigger than it looks on the website. The reception and lounge are beautiful with amazing views over the river to the mountains that rise out right in front of you. It was a bit similar to being in a Miss Marple or Poirot episode with hight ceilings and traditional decoration. The fire was lit in the evening and we really relaxed with some whiskeys playing board games for a couple of hours. The staff are very well up on whiskey with a huge selection in their bar at reasonable prices. The room was a surprise as it was quite modern although it still retained the original old charm of the building-a perfect combination. The en suite was large with a 2 person shower. The bed was extremely comfortable with high quality bedding. Although there isn't a dinner service here there a couple of options nearby which were suggested at check in. Breakfast was excellent-bright cheery service with a huge amount of options. I think this was probably the best breakfast I've ever eaten on holiday. We only stayed for 1 night but wished we had booked for 2

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went out of our (student) budget a bit to stay in this place, and it was definitely worth it. The bathroom was huge and modern (twin ensuite), the room was spacious with a gorgeous view, and the lounge was quiet and complete with a very well stocked bar. The owner was gracious, friendly and warm. A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I turned up unannounced and could not have been made more welcome by the lovely people at this beautiful Guest House. The room was very clean and the facilities top notch. The Guest House is set in a wonderful location with great views. I had a great overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My new wife and I stayed there overnight on a swing through the Highlands and were delighted by this B&B. First and foremost, the view is incredible - we had a suite (which was reasonably priced) and all three sets of windows had an amazing view of the water and mountains - it was very idyllic. The room was clean and spacious, and the staff were all incredibly polite. Breakfast (which I'll admit ends quite early at 9AM) was delicious and served in a gorgeous Scottish-themed hall complete with Black Watch plaid carpet accents. The sitting room off of the lobby is everything you want: huge plush couches and comfortable chairs overlooking Loch Linnhe. Overall the place was perfect - if you're not traveling with children under 10 please ignore the 1-star review below and book this place; picturesque, affordable, and enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful house in a very beautiful surroundings. Good breakfast. Nice and helpful owner and staff. There is a pebble beach just down the road. Fantastic seafood restaurant 5 miles away recomended by the owner of the B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The suite was large and comfortable with lovely views of the loch. We were disappointed with the service. It was a bit like a traditional B&B, not allowed in before 4pm, out by 10 am and breakfast between 8-9 am. In the breakfast room was a notice saying don't remove food from the room!
No dinner but plenty of local recommendations. We had a great fish and chips meal at the Lock Leven hotel nearby, and we would prefer to stay there next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: As with many hotels and B&B in areas it was a bit over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creag Mhor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creag Mhor Lodge

Address: North Ballachulish, Ballachulish PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creag Mhor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Creag Mhor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creag Mhor Hotel Ballachulish
Creag Mhor Lodge Ballachulish, Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creag Mhor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.