We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in ideal setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre to your Saves list
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Fort William, Ballachulish PH49 4HL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value for money in ideal setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel never disappoints. It doesnt pretend to be anything other than a fab 3 star hotel but one whose service, staff and food would give some higher rated hotels run for their money. Every staff member is friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. The rooms have just been repainted. The meals were lovely and plentiful. The leisure centre gives an ideal distraction when the weather is awful. The setting is amazing with spectaular scenery all around.
We enjoyed the added bonus of a folk singer in the lounge on the Saturday night. Another great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuggetWestHighlands, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Isles. I am delighted that once again, we have offered everything that you were looking for. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always keen to receive feedback from our guests.
As you have said we are 3 star and we as a team have always agreed that we would like to be seen as a good quality 3 star, than a poor quality 4 star, hence why we do not try to be anything other than 3 star.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    328
    199
    96
    49
See reviews for
189
478
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just returned from a 1 night stay at this fantastic hotel, staff very friendly and facilities first class.
only down side for us was the limited menu on the night, we opted for a pork and a venison which were not bad but the potatoes seemed undercooked (hard).

Room Tip: top floor has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuggetWestHighlands, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Isles. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt that the facilities were as you had hoped. I am sorry that you felt that the menu was limited for you. We do change our starters and main courses on a nightly basis, so that our guests have options throughout their stay. I have passed on your comments to the Kitchen team in regards to the potatoes. The team do cook the vegetables slightly aldente and are always happy to cook them more should our guests require this.
I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again and hope that I can welcome you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Having returned from our third break at the Isles, Hogmanay, and two Burn's weekends, we can only say that this hotel meets all the requirements we ask for. The food is excellent, rooms are very comfortable, staff are just great and the location is just stunning. As a small tour operator we do look for quality more than quantity and the Isles - yes we will be going back - is in our top ten. If you are looking for group travel in the Highlands do try the and let Tracey and her team look after your group. Excursions from here can take your group to Oban, Mull and Iona, Mallaig and on to Skye, Ft. William, Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Nevis Range Gondola and the Caledonian Canal to Inverness. Boat cruises at Ft Augustus. Great place, great stay. John Reeves

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuggetWestHighlands, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback John regarding your 3 recent stays with us here at the Isles. I am delighted that everything has gone well for you and the Hotel meets all the requirements you are looking for. Thank you so much for rating the Isles in your top ten. It means a lot to myself and the team to get your views and we always look forward to working with you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles at the end of the year if not before.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

You just could not ask for a more scenic location, friendly staff and easy access to some beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: most rooms have a loch view but it doesnt hurt to specify it when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuggetWestHighlands, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very attentive staff, and good food. The lochside position is excellent our room (as most seemed to) had a beautiful view over the loch and a door which opened lochside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuggetWestHighlands, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to your stay with us here at the Isles in January of this year.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as the food and that you felt that were well looked after by the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Was lucky enough to stay in the Isles of Glencoe only last weekend.
From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with cheery helful staff. We were lucky to have been allocated a room with a loch view, because the scenery is just fabulous.
The actual room was very spacious and warm with heating that could be adjusted to your needs. Which is quite useful
The bathroom is spaceous very clean and has a choice of both bath and shower (which worked very well. Not always the case in other hotels). We had a meal on both nights and I must say that the standard and presentation of the food was excellent. As was the staff at the hotel who were more than helpful with any questions about the local are etc. The staff are a real credit to this hotel. I just cant praise them highly enough. Made use of the leisure facilities which are on offer. It is really pleasant to be able to go for a warm swim after coming in from the cold
The actual location of this hotel is second to none, .As the surrounding grounds and village are very pleasant for short strolls, if it is a quiet lazy stay that is required. Also is the perfect base for touring the area.
Which I may add is some of the best scenery and history in Scotland.
I would recommend you give this hotel a visit.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a loch view as the scenery is just fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuggetWestHighlands, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Isles. I thank you for your lovely comments regarding my staff and have passed your comments on to them. I do count myself very lucky to have such a good team with me. I have also passed on your comments in relation to our food and housekeeping. Our menus have just recently changed and we have an ongoing programme in place for the painting and decorating of our rooms and bathrooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We liked:
Stunning location, really is a fantastic spot
Friendly staff

We didn't like:
Cold showers, surely this would be a priority for a West Highland hotel for when folks come in off the hills.
Salmon Terrine appeared to be made from bread and brine from tinned salmon tin. Not nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a lochside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuggetWestHighlands, General Manager at Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, though was a little concerned that you experienced a cold shower. Having checked with my Reception team, we are not aware that there have any problems with our hot water supply recently, though our boilers have been checked to ensure that they are running as they should be. I sincerely apologise for this shortcoming.
With regards to the Salmon Terrine, again I am not aware of any problems with our food offering of late, though I have passed on your feedback to my Chef to ensure that the quality is as it should be.
I hope that I can welcome you back to the Isles again in the future.

Kind regards

Tracy Mackintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Near Fort William, Ballachulish PH49 4HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel And Leisure Centre
Isles Of Glencoe Ballachulish
Isle Of Glencoe
Isles Of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre Ballachulish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.