We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clachaig Inn - Glencoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clachaig Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clachaig Inn
Save
You added Clachaig Inn to your Saves list
Ballachulish, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clachaig Inn - Glencoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

May 28 – 2009 – late review but needed to pay tribute to the recommendation of the Clachaig Inn in Glencoe. Great place to visit in Scotland. This was one of our last stops in a two week Scotland self-guided vacation/tour, and even after seeing some beautiful landscapes and castles, Glencoe was one of our favorite places. You get caught up in the atmosphere of the Clachaig Inn – one of the great places we stayed. The setting is beautiful and it's easy to find. It is a perfect base for walkers and hikers. The beer tasting event that was held the first night we were there was great - one of the highlights of our trip. Very relaxed and fun.

The inn is old, and the rooms a bit dated, but adequate; you shouldn't be in the rooms anyway, except to sleep. Rooms were a bit expensive compared to other B&B options –so not the best value for a night's sleep but the great atmosphere does make up for it. If you’re in Glencoe and can afford an extra $20/30 per night – stay here – it’s worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    137
    84
    26
    22
See reviews for
57
188
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Clachaig Inn is in the middle of Glencoe and therefore the perfect place to sit and look at the beautiful mountains and scenery, especially if you get a sunny day and can sit outside. The bar staff are nice and friendly and the bar has great photos and pictures of climbers, along with a range of Mackie’s crisps. Unfortunately the toilets a in dire need of refurbishment. However, it is well worth calling in for a snack/drink if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The clachaig boots bar is brilliant. The refurb in 2011 had some good points and some not so good. The window into the snug is good but enclosing the area at the fire isn't. Live music and a great venue. Food is overpriced and under quality. The rooms are ok but too expensive, there are other cheaper places in the area. The breakfast is excellent though. Cask beers go ofline too often and leave a poor selection. Some beers from England would be good now and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent two days here recently, and were caught up in the atmosphere of the place. The setting is beautiful and it's easy to find. It is a perfect base for walkers and hikers. The staff is so kind and helpful. The inn is old, and the rooms a bit dated, but adequate; you shouldn't be in the rooms anyway, except to sleep. We anticipated pub food, but we got much more...there is a good selection of dishes that were outstanding, especially the seafood. Breakfast is also quite good, and very filling (perfect to start a day of walking the highlands). But the pub! Oh, the pub! If you're lucky enough to go on a weekend, it will be packed with locals & travelers singing & clapping to incredible music. And if you're really lucky, it will be an open session of locals who come to play together, and it is magical. The beer is mostly local, with a good selection, and of course the scotch is ever present. It is quite busy, so book far in advance. We booked 5 months before we went and they were almost full then. There's a reason...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was one of six stops on WHW and we were really looking forward to it with its climbing and walking heritage. It was a let down. Rooms were functional but gloomy. Spotlights outside which are fine to display the inn to passers by perhaps - but not at 2 in the morning! Having got to sleep despite the glare woken back up by laundry collection at 0535. Firstly with vehicle reversing warning then with interminable (30 mins) of laundry being collected and the driver crunching backwards and forwards up the drive and corridor. The breakfast start time of 0815 offers no flexibility to walkers wanting an early start. Breakfast itself was good and the staff very efficient and friendly. Real Ale 'festival' was an exaggeration. Choices pretty limited. Fantastic location and views are propping up a tired lacklustre offering which could very easily be improved.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This place has 300 years of reputation to live up to. And it does.
After a long walk in the highlands, this was like an oasis in the desert.

The selection of beers is always good. If you like dark beers try the Lochness Darkness.

Also try their cola and ice £2 - great!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited the pub on my recent visit to Glencoe. I went into the 'walkers' bar as my dog was allowed in here. The bar has a lovely atmosphere and is very cosy. The food is excellent as is the selection of beers and whiskies.
The staff are extremely friendly and asked if my dog would like water BEFORE asking what I would like to drink. It makes a refreshing change for dogs to be made SO welcome.
There is a lovely log burning fire and all in all is a great place to go after a days walking in the area. Also very close to the red squirrel camp site and the hostels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clachaig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachaig Inn

Address: Ballachulish, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Glencoe, Clachaig Inn is a popular hostelry with a rich mountaineering heritage. Accommodation is provided by 23 en suite bedrooms, most of which enjoy the spectacular mountain views. Clachaig has 3 lively bars award winning bars and specializes in cask conditioned ales and malt whiskey. Food is served throughout the day and the menus use a variety of locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clachaig Hotel Clachaig
Clachaig Inn Ballachulish, Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clachaig Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.