We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ballachulish Hotel to your Saves list
Ballachulish Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
Methil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a group of eight work colleagues in May. Had a great time and enjoyed our stay. Staff were all very welcoming and the hotel is lovely. Rooms were well equipped with hair dryer, toiletries, kettle and tea n coffee. Would defiantly like to go back

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Alison B
Thank you for your lovely comments and myself and staff do appreciate your views espicially when we get it right, my staff are very passionate about thir place of work and that others enjoy it to. I do look forward to welcoming you back inthe near future

Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    217
    144
    68
    56
See reviews for
66
389
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We paid a bit less, as a last minute booking, and I would not have liked to pay more. Some aspects good, but there is a great variation in the rooms. I'm not that keen on dogs using hotels, and this is dog friendly. Squeaky floors above disturbed my sleep, as did the snoring from all sides. There is an issue with sound proofing in the newer part where we were.
The windows were seriously ill fitting, and that would be a concern in cold weather. The bar was less than wonderful, really due to the lack of interest from the barman.
Breakfast was good, and the food was hot. The dining table was sticky though, and looking round, that was general. I just felt that this hotel is not as nice as it should be. A bit of management regarding staff performance could sort that out quickly.We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a loch view, in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sheila 951
Thank you for taking the time to place you views and i am sad to learn you were disappointed in the facilities of the hotel although you mentioned the breakfast was good and was hot. We are about to go through a major investment plan that should sort out the comfort side of the hotel and are looking at retraining staff members that goes along with investment. I do hope if you are ever back in the area that you may give us another try as i feel that bigger and brighter things are coming which should solve any issues that we have
Kind Regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

What an idyllic location and beautiful gardens to sit in and drink in the view.Staff were very professional and very helpful.The food was of a very high standard.The room was just perfect with a Loch view.To be recommended.To add to our very positive review,we had a special deal with 5pm which added to the value.

Room Tip: Loch view room will add to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Gaz4Caz
Thank you for these grest comments and with a stunning location you felt it was spot on what you had expected, this does give us gratitude to feel we got it right and your expecttions were met. I dol ook forward to seeing you back in Ballachulish in the near future
kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel. It was bit like stepping back into the 70’s - the creaking staircase reminded me of a hammer horror movie. Admittedly the hotel did look a bit tired but it grew on us. Our room had a lovely view of Loch Linnhe, the room was dated but very clean. The manager and his staff were welcoming though the dining room staff were not really that well trained but they tried.

We were invited to a really enjoyable Highland evening, Scottish dancers and an excellent piper. The location is excellent and there is a lovely small golf course, Dragons Tooth, nearby. The views are great. It is a great touring base and we will go back there.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking Loch Linnhe - the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear sandMartin2
Thank you for your review and that we take these on board and speak to our staff about them. I am glad we grew on you as we do get the occasional customer who dont know what they are getting but in the end do go away happy and return. I do look forward to welcoming you back and remember to bring those golf clubs fot the dragons tooth
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed with a party from Great Rail Journeys and had expected much better. There is shabby chic and then there is downright shabby! E.g. Rip on stair carpet which is an accident waiting to happen. The wardrobe door made enough noise when opened to waken the dead !
The serving staff, mostly foreign, evidently do not understand the principles of hospitality and were abrupt and surly to the point of rudeness (when I asked for toast I was told to make it myself!) .Breakfast was not nice , greasy and congealed , and not the choice I would expect in the buffet. If the food ran out it was not replaced. Dinners were at best mediocre, please don't have the ice cream which is 98% water and most unpleasant.
The manager is always apologetic but gives the impression of being out of control as complaints don't appear to be acted upon.
Finally, and most appallingly, one of our party found their bed to be infested with bedbugs !! Need I say more ?
A 3 star hotel? I think not !

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We read your review with a heavy heart ,Frank B. We're working hard to improve the fabric of the building and the team and immediately act on all feedback. We were also shocked by the pest control, which was an absolute on-off and has been eradicated.Your colleague was very understanding and graciously accepted our apology. We can only hope you will give us another chance someday, when we promise you'll find positive changes all round

Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballachulish hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I had three nights here. Beautifully located but quite run down. Can hear snoring through the walls.
Main gripe is breakfast organisation - we were edged out by tour groups, staff are poorly trained & there was absolutely no supervision, resulting in messy tables and food shortages.

Room Tip: Expect a budget experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
DearNormaD
Thank you for taking the time to put on your views and the hotel expierance was not up to your ususal standards whichj i apologise for. we are just about to have some investment in the hotel to keep it in character but work on the comfort and soundproofing in some of our rooms
I do hope in the future you do give us another go as we are working to try and get the hotel back to its former self
Kind regards
Frank chambers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

5pm deal at this hotel was good value for money.The hotel is a little tired and could do with some TLC,staff are vey helpful rooms are well kitted out and very clean,lovely views over the loch,breakfast was also very good will return.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear StuartM
Well thanks fot the cosiness and you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we are working at the moment to get rid of that little tiredness and bring a spring back into the 39 steps to the top floor of the hotel to the very bottom. i look forwardto seeing you on your next visit back to Ballachuilish
Kind regards
Frank Chambers
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballachulish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.