We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ballachulish Hotel to your Saves list
Ballachulish Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
Colchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We would have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had stayed many years ago at the Isles of Glencoe hotel and turned up one afternoon on our journey to Skye, taking a chance - but they were full. However, they kindly offered to call their sister hotel, the Ballachulish, to arrange accommodation there for us and we were delighted with what we found. I have seen other reviews comment on the shabby appearance of parts of the hotel but for us it was a charming older building; our large room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, with a beautiful view of the loch. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was excellent - a good choice and perfectly cooked and presented. The absence of a lift wasn't a problem as cheerful staff willingly carried our bags upstairs for us. We were disappointed that we couldn't be accommodated for another night as the hotel was full and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    253
    155
    70
    57
See reviews for
71
447
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Am writing this review while sitting in our lovely room(102). We have stayed here before and it such a beautiful part of the country. We are here for 2 nights, when we arrived we were greeted with a friendly wellcome. As i said we are in room 102 with a great view of the Loch. The room is clean and spacious with a roll top spa bath and seperate shower. Dinner on our first evening was good , food nice and tasty. The only complaint would be the breakfast is Buffet style and allthough very tasty and plenty of it, it was cold. Overall a really charming comfortable hotel in a lovely setting. With regards other reviews stating the hotel is dated, personally i love the period decor which adds to the charm, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: One with a view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We did the Itison deal for 2 nights, breakfast both days, dinner plus bottle lovely wine on first evening for £100 per couple. How can anyone complain about that? Staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout, the rooms were comfy, if a little on the hot side, beds big and views to die for. Ok, the hotel is elderly but this only adds to the atmosphere. Lovely olde worlde rooms such as the Library to relax in. Food was good and breakfast was a help yourself buffet with everything you could need. Excellent deal in a really good hotel. This hotel perfectly suits the local environment of the haunting Glencoe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was really pleased to read your review with regards to your stay with us here at the Ballachulish Hotel. I read your comments to the team and they were delighted that you found our team welcoming.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

With all of our kindest regards
The Ballachulish Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Myself and partner just back from this hotel. We got a great deal through itison.com.2 nights DBB and bottle wine on arrival for £100 was fantastic.
Hotel itself is old and has traditional features. Staff all friendly and kept on their toes. Our room no. 27 bottom floor didn't have much of a view except the car park. The heating in our room was ridiculously warm... Throughout the night we tossed n turned , the switch on wall was broken but we soon managed to get it switched off. The bed was the only let down, I wouldn't even have let my dog sleep on it extremely uncomfortable.
Dinner and breakfast were both lovely and great portion sized. Great views while eating which was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was really pleased to read your review with regards to your stay with us here at the Ballachulish Hotel. I read your comments to the team and they were delighted that you found our team friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

With all of our kindest regards
The Ballachulish Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coatbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We got this deal through Classic Britain, 2 nights for the price of 1 DB&B with 2 drinks each. From check-in to check-out it was brilliant. Was worried as I was reading some really varied reviews but that is their opinion. Please try it for yourselves. The hotel sits on the banks of Loch Linnhe and Loch Leven, you have rolling hills all around. The views are stunning. The staff are very friendly and lovely to speak to. The rooms are big, clean and I will advise anyone to get a Loch view as it is so worth it. Yes the hotel is slightly old fashioned but that adds to the charm, if you are looking for an ultra modern hotel go to a big city. If you come by car, try and find the time to go towards Mallaig, the scenery will blow you away. Special mention to the amazing breakfast you can get, everything from cereal to a full cooked breakfast. Looking out over the Loch towards the mountains while having your food is a great start to your day.

Room Tip: Get a Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was really pleased to read your review with regards to your stay with us here at the Ballachulish Hotel. I read your comments to the team and they were delighted that you found our team welcoming.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

With all of our kindest regards
The Ballachulish Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Expectations are everything.
Some of the reviews left a lot to be desired, however.....
We were only there for 2 nights, our expectations were to go somewhere with great walks, scenery and views from the Hotel. We got the lot.
If you like a modern, perfectly manicured place to stay, go elsewhere. It is old fashioned in an unashamed way. Wholesome and huge meal portions, not to mention wonderfully high calorific breakfast which can be walked off with little guilt and no need for lunch!
The view from the room was outstanding, and would be a world beater if they could install large glass bay windows in some of the rooms. The reception staff were efficient and friendly.

Moans? Had to look for bar staff on both days in mid afternoon, however that was because they were busy retrieving food orders from the kitchen. Menu could have had a wider selection, but for 2 nights it didn't bother us too much.
If you wish to be fed well by friendly staff, and have wonderful views to gaze at during great walks and from your hotel, and don't get too hung up on the olde worldy look of a Hotel, then you could do worse than try this place.

Room Tip: Def one with views of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was really pleased to read your review with regards to your stay with us here at the Ballachulish Hotel. I read your comments to the team and they were delighted that you found our team Friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

With all of our kindest regards
The Ballachulish Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We purchased a deal for this hotel through itson.com, for dinner, bed, breakfast & bottle of wine on arrival. We arrived a couple of hours before check in & the staff were very accomodating & gave us a room that was ready. The room was a reasonable size & had an amazing view across the loch! The room was very traditional (mahogany furniture etc) but clean. The evening menu was varied & the food was good & breakfast was a buffet. They also did pack lunches for walkers etc. The staff are what makes this hotel great & the location is stunning, even when the weather isn't!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballachulish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.