We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ballachulish Hotel to your Saves list
Ballachulish Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for our 1 year anniversary. It was extremely cheap - dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 nights for £80 p/p. (Groupon offer at the time). We went on some lovely walks nearby and the dinner in the hotel was lovely. As it was January we managed to get a room upgrade fairly easily which no extra charge. The staff were lovely and our room was huge. Although I could say that the rooms could do with a little bit of an upgrade, it is in keeping with the type of building and its location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    253
    155
    70
    57
See reviews for
71
447
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

When arriving my impression was of a dismal building too close to a busy road. We decided to look around the area for a better prospect for dinner-still checked in as I had pre-booked using the glorious website description-I should have read the reviews first!
Extractor fan in bathroom not working, room smelt of chemicals (like mothballs). Very old fashioned but charmless. Everything looking very tired. The road noise starts at 0600 and the windows are totally ineffective at noise reduction. Then we were subjected to one and a half hours of the extremely noisy floorboard squeaks/bangs and morning tv/conversation from those directly above us. I even called reception to enquire what was above us (sounded like a workshop!). TV only capable of 20 channels, so need Sky or similar upgrade.
I would have liked to include in this review a generous discount to the roomrate (say£20), but do not really expect to receive this. perhaps this could be donated to a refurbishment project to include new windows, new insulated floors, new bathroom, etc.
On the plus side the bed was extremely large and comfy. The wi-fi was reliable and breakfast OK-ish.
Would I stay again-no, unless the room was topside and away from the road and I was desperate. This is unlikely as there is a plethora of alternative accommodation nearby.

Room Tip: topsides away from road and kitchen, or even better go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you were dissapointed with your accommodation and that you found the noise from the road and surrounding guests annoying. We would have been happy to relocate your room to the rear of the hotel, subject to availability, but I am not sure if you made your request to reception during your stay. Our company is currently carrying out costings on a refurbishment plan which will include bedrooms and all our Public areas and i am confident our guests will see improvements in these areas in the near future. We hope that you will return again in the future when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay a the Ballachulish Hotel. Old facilities like this with lots of personality are fun. The scenic atmosphere was terrific. Hotel was nicely upgraded without loosing it's historic charm. Dinner was enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Great to read your positive feedback following your stay with us. These comments will be passed on to all my staff. We hope you will return again soon and enjoy our hopitality and scenery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect spot to take advantage of the Loch view. However, we also had one of the rooms overlooking the roof and near the food exhaust. Fortunately, the smells were not coming into the room. The property is a wee bit tired as mentioned in other reviews, but the charm of the old place kind of gets to you if you overlook the shabbyness of some areas. The big drawing room where tea is served by a darling little lady after dinner is something you don't find in fancy city hotels and I rather liked that. Enjoyed walking around the property and surrounding areas. We were with a coach tour and as was mentioned, the food wasn't stellar, but it was OK. We had 39 people all ordering at once ( from a limited menu ) so we weren't expecting a Michelein rating.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are currently working on costings for a refurbishment programme which will include our Public areas and bedrooms and i am sure when complete our guests will see the improvements. Your kind comment with regards to tea and Coffee served in our Lounge will be passed on to all concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel as part of a Great Rail Journey tour. The location is fine and the staff were friendly - however .....
The first room we were allocated had a view of a roof and was over the kitchen which had an extremely noisy extractor system; the room stank of cooking fat and the furniture was chipped and shabby. After complaining to our tour manager (the staff would not transfer us without intervention!) she managed to get us a room in the "West Wing" which was fresher and had a view go the Loch. The biggest complaint must be with the food; we we on a DBB basis and I understand that hotels look to make profit from tour groups but the standard of dinners was unacceptable; cheap ingredients were bulked out with potatoes and stodge; strangely though, the breakfasts were good as the tour group shared the same buffet as the "paying guests"! The entire hotel was tired and in need of a refurb - there was frayed carpet on the main staircase, spillage stains on the wall in the dining room and just a general malaise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent 3 day stay with us. I am sorry that you were not happy with the location of your bedroom but pleased to note that we were able to relocate you to a suitable alternative. Your comments with regards to our Dinner menus for your group will be discussed with all relevant members of my Food and Beverage Team and we always welcome constructive feedback. We do service groups throughout the year and we do try and find suitable menus that suit all parties. I can assure you that we will take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballachulish hotels

UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a one night DB&B deal at this hotel and were disappointed. The location and building are grand with large public rooms and stunning views. This is not matched by the below standard food on offer in the tired and shabby restaurant. Beautiful views over the loch could not compensate for a diner menu no better than a local pub and a cooked breakfast that was inedible. A real shame. This hotel needs a bit of TL&C, the restaurant needs to up its game and get someone with fresh ideas into the kitchen. The worst thing was the sticky tables in the restaurant - just horrible ! The staff tried hard and our room overlooking the loch was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was disappointed to note that you did not enjoy your breakfast or Dinner and we have taken on board your comments at our daily meeting. We will relook at our Restaurant set up and also review our current menus on offer. We are currently working on refurbishment plans for the hotel which will include bedrooms and our Public areas. As you can appreciate this is a major project and will require to be phased in over the forthcoming months. We do hope that if you were in the area again in the future you would return again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Living social deal.....customizing deal? Not this. Kettle lead not long enough for plug socket so had to boil it on the floor. Hardly any toilet roll provided, requested it but still waiting (yep, writing this in the hotel) and our view, right onto a flat roof with building across. It says views of mountains or loch....ummmm. Worse, I think we're near the kitchen, the sounds are like a pub having legs of beer delivered!! And living social.....this is not a good deal...Allston hotels put us in their worst rooms n give us health n safety problems n then, hardly any toilet roll. On the plus, great shower. Not had breakfast yet.........

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken note of your housekeeping issues and aplogise for the lack of essential items within your bathroom. Your request for more toilet paper and not being delivered was an oversight on our part and certainly not our normal standard of service.
The moving of beer kegs whilst essential in our normal working day will be looked at with regards to timings.
We do have a variation of rooms within the Ballachulish Hotel and subject to availability we do have Loch View Rooms which normally carry a supplement charge and this is advised at time of booking.
We do hope that you will return again and give us the opportunity to reinstate your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballachulish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.