We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ballachulish Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballachulish Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Ballachulish
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrive at the Hotel,which has amazing views.
this is an old building so there was plenty squeeky floor boards and a lot of history to it,Staff were very pleasant especially on reception.
Our room was clean, tidy a bit cold until we turned up the radiators.
the mattress could do with changing,(was looking a bit worn )
evening meals were a bit expensive for what the were, but thats what you get for a hotel...
breakfast was nice good selection ,
on the saturday night the music was a bit loud( being on the 2nd floor and still being able to hear the music above the tv )
Overall a comfortable stay and nice food..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel comfortable and the food good. We do discuss all reviews with all relevant members of staff and we do acknowledge your constructive comments with regards to the mattress in your room and also with regards to the prices of our menus. These menus are reviewed on a regular basis and we do try and keep our prices competitive in line with the current economic climate. We do hope that you will return again soon and stay with us here in Ballachulish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    191
    129
    63
    54
See reviews for
59
341
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Got two night deal through group on so can't fault the value. The hotel is in an amazing position on the loch and really close to Glencoe. The building itself is really interesting and full of character with nooks, crannies.

Staff were on the whole very pleasant and helpful particularly on reception and reception luckily managed to sort our room out after their head office had booked us under the wrong name for the wrong nights.

Me and my girlfriend really enjoyed the food and boozing in the hotel and the view over the loch from the restaurant is awesome.

We had a room in the new west wing which looks pretty tired but was clean and not a big issue as we were out and about most of the time.

However if like us you stay in a ground floor room and there are guests in the room above don't bother trying to get any sleep until they've settled. Probably the noisiest room I've ever stayed in with the creaky floorboards and banging as they seemed to pace up and down for hours.

Not really an issue in the eve but could have done without them getting up before 7am Saturday and Sunday and waking us up.

Shame really, but would still recommend what overall is a great hotel just try and request first floor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. Delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the mix up on arrival with your reservation. I am glad to note that we sorted this out and that you found my staff pleasant and helpful.

We will investigate the noisy floorboards and we do have a rolling maintenance programme which covers all bedroom and public areas and hopefully we will resolve this issue.

I am pleased to note that you would recommend a stay here and we hope that you will return to stay with us again in the Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Meal supplements expensive,steak was good but for the price you pay you would expect better quality and not chips from the freezer.
The room was average no double glazing so you heard all the traffic outside,the bed was very hard to sleep on.You could hear people in the room above you walking about all night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your review following your stay with us here at Ballachulish Hotel. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed the quality of your steak for dinner and note your comment with regards to the Supplement charged. We do try and source the best ingredients for our guests and try to price our dishes as competitive as we can. I am sorry you did not find the bed comfortable and were disturbed by the surrounding noises nearby. If this happens and we have an alternative room available we are always happy to accommodate our guests requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had been to this hotel 4 years ago and loved everything about it and were so looking forward to a return visit, however, the whole experience was so unlike the first
staff,however, were friendly and welcoming as ever
room was ok but a bit tired
the main dissappointment was how the standard of food has dropped from quite fine dining to very average pub grub
breakfast was very poor, very little choice and food was cold
again top marks to staff but don't think we will be doing a return visit again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. It was good to note that you found my staff to be very pleasant during your stay but disappointed to note your comments with regards to Dinner and Breakfast. We have discussed these with all relevant members of my Food and Beverage team and we will be carrying our re-training with regards to breakfast service and we always review our Dinner menus and adjust in line with the seasons and guests feedback. We do hope that you will re-consider and stay with us when you are next in the Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel is located on a very dodgy corner of a main road but don't let that put you off! The scenery is just beautiful wherever you look and it's a great base for exploring Glencoe National Park.

The main parts of the hotel itself are quirky and old. The residents lounge is lovely with no TV so sitting with a hot chocolate, over looking a loch and enjoying the peace is a real treat.

Our room was located in the newer wing of the hotel and was very basic with a decent sized bed. The shower was pretty average and room sparsely decorated but it served it's purpose. The heating in the room wasn't very good and we were cold on our first night so the staff supplied us with some lovely thick blankets (and then we were too warm!!).

Breakfast was pretty decent, afternoon tea was nice and dinner was OK. We both had chicken stuffed with haggis served with neaps and tatties which came smothered in a cream sauce - not a dish I'd recommend if you don't like rich food!!! Service and portion sizes were pretty decent and you're not likely to leave the restaurant feeling hungry :-)

Room Tip: Request a loch view room if you can - it comes with a small supplement but it's worth it for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. It was pleasing to note that you enjoyed the scenery, our Lounges and found your stay relaxing. We have noted that you found our breakfast satisfactory and we have discussed your comments with regards to our Chicken and Haggis dish with a whisky sauce. This main course is actually our best sellor on our dinner menu but we do appreciate it may be too rich for some tastes. We hope that you will return to stay with us should you be in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Was in the area whilst looking up an old house my parents used to rent for holiday when we were young.Decided to stop for a drink.The place quickly filled up as we entered and the guy serving did a great job.Had tea,coffee and a prawn sandwich all ok.Seating not great my parnters chair gave him that sinking feeling!!Lovely location though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review following your short stop with us for a snack. Your positve comments are very welcome and I note your comment with regards to some of our chairs. We do have an ongoing refurbishment plan which will incorporate our various public areas over the next twelve months. We hope you will stop off again when passing or why not stay the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas 2012. When we arrived we were unhappy with our room. Reception gave us an alternative that was very cold we eventually were given a reasonably satisfactory room. reception staff were welcoming and helpful. The ambience of the place is good, perhaps describe a slightly shabby but cosy. Food over the break of three days was traditional and reasonable quality. not fine dining but served well with by pleasant friendly staff. Traditional entertainment was provided over the break and was excellent. The hotel is of modest size and was ideal for the Christmas Break. Friendly guests creating a pleasant atmosphere over the whole three days. Would definitely go again. superb location, must be amazing in Summer. Compliments to the management, local staff and staff from th EU.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was good to note that you enjoyed your three day break with us at Christmas. Your kind comments have been passed on to all my relevant staff. We do have an ongoing refurbishment plan for the hotel which will include bedrooms and Public areas. When you are next in the area hopefully you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballachulish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.