We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballachulish Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ballachulish Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballachulish Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Ballachulish
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas 2012. When we arrived we were unhappy with our room. Reception gave us an alternative that was very cold we eventually were given a reasonably satisfactory room. reception staff were welcoming and helpful. The ambience of the place is good, perhaps describe a slightly shabby but cosy. Food over the break of three days was traditional and reasonable quality. not fine dining but served well with by pleasant friendly staff. Traditional entertainment was provided over the break and was excellent. The hotel is of modest size and was ideal for the Christmas Break. Friendly guests creating a pleasant atmosphere over the whole three days. Would definitely go again. superb location, must be amazing in Summer. Compliments to the management, local staff and staff from th EU.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was good to note that you enjoyed your three day break with us at Christmas. Your kind comments have been passed on to all my relevant staff. We do have an ongoing refurbishment plan for the hotel which will include bedrooms and Public areas. When you are next in the area hopefully you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    191
    129
    63
    54
See reviews for
59
341
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for a two night weekend stay with our two children. We were on a DBB deal for both nights. Our room was big with bunk beds for the kids which they loved. We were in room 211 which does not have a view of the loch, we were actually looking at a wall. This didn't bother us too much as we were out most of the time. The room itself and en suite was ok, it was a bit tired and did smell of mould. This could be easily fixed with a plug in. Our 4 year old was under the bed and found two saucers and a cup!
Dinner was ok, Frank made the experience much better. On the second night the girl serving us didn't quite get the order right and didn't seem too understand what was on the menu. She was pleasant with it which made it better. Breakfast could be so much better, but it was fine for the price.
I agree that it is a sin to have an electric fire in the beautiful old fireplace, reckon it's down to cost.
The staff were all pleasant, drinks are a bit overpriced. Would we come back here, yes. Overall it's full of character and does need some TLC but it adds to the character of the place. Menu was the same both nights, it was a also on a dirty sheet of A4. It would be nice to have it in a folder and change the menu. We saw that the GM has taken on board that you can order off the A la carte at a supplement, this is much better.

Room Tip: If you want a loch view you have to ask and pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments following your stay with us. Apologies for the issues you experienced with regards to our Housekeeping standards. These have been discussed with my relevant staff. We are continously reviewing our menus and with regards to presentation this will change once we have agreed the next seasonal menu. Our F & B team are aware of your comments with regards to Breakfast buffet and this we are continually monitoring in order to improve our standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel at 8pm after being in the car for 6 hours with 3 young children. The lady at reception was lovely and gave us a warm greeting. We hadn't eaten and really wanted to take some food to the room but were told by the bistro staff that we couldn't and there was a table waiting in the restaurant. This was disappointing and one of the children fell asleep while we were eating. The food was good although we did have some communication problems with the waitress (she was friendly though). The room itself was great, plenty of room for all of us and the children had a bed each - in the past at a different hotel we have had one double for all 3 of them which did not lead to a good nights sleep - there was also a settee and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was huge with a bath and separate shower. The beds were comfy and we all slept well. In the morning the views from the restaurant were amazing. The breakfast was a large choice and would please anyone. Unfortunately the hot buffet looked a bit sad, especially the fried eggs but what I had tasted good. We would book this hotel again, great for a stopover.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to stay again with us. I have investigated your comment with regards to Food to your room. Our F & B staff were committed to service within the Restaurant around that time but we will review how we service requests to bedrooms througout the evening to ensure we improve this aspect of our guests stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just what we wanted a hotel with creaks & character and that's what you get. Yeah ok, it looks a little tired but for where you are i think it adds to the appeal. Relaxing in the library with a nice malt and planning and reflecting is what its all about, even thought having a real fire burning would have been perfect. The only down sides were in the large lounge had a open fire but a three bar electric fire was there, WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Also the food you do expect to be presented with a nice bonded menu promoting the best of local produce and not a dirty printed A4 sheet of paper, its all in the detail guys!!, that's what tourists into our country want. But we will be back just love the Highlands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay within the hotel. We have taken on board your comments with regards to menu presentation and we are currently reviewing this. We have plans to refurbish parts of the hotel which includes our Lounges and bedrooms and this will also include most public areas. We hope that you will return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Like many of the other reviewers of this hotel, we got a deal (ours was via Buyagift) which made this hotel £40 a night. For that price, with its beautiful location next to the loch and within easy driving distance to Glen Coe, it is worth the money, however we would not have been happy to pay the full room price.

The room was large with an ensuite bathroom and jucuzzi bath, a treat after a day's walking in the cold rain! We had an excellent view over the loch. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The only let down of this hotel was the food. On the first day the breakfast was a buffet style with a choice of dry, bland croissants, cereals, or large vats of luke warm at best 'cooked' breakfast options. There were no vegetarian alternatives to the meat options which left us with only eggs and tomatoes to choose from.

The next day the cold buffet was the same but with the cooked breakfast being served at the table. We thought this meant that it would be freshly cooked and therefore hot this time, however the scrambled eggs were still cold. Again, no vegetarian alternatives were offered.

We looked at the menu for the bistro on one evening however yet again it was disappointing for us non-meat eaters with just the one not particularly appetising sounding vegetarian option.
If you are a vegetarian and plan on spending a day out walking/climbing etc we would recommend you try another hotel so you can get a good hearty start to the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. It was good to read that you enjoyed your location and found the bedroom facilities to your liking. With regards to breakfast we have taken your constructive comments on board and have discussed these with all my relevant members of the Food and Beverage department. Changes have already taken place with regards to Breakfast and Dinner standards and hopefully you will return and experience these at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We arrived in the evening when it was dark, the hotel looked beautiful lit up beside the Loch. We were greeted at reception by a lovely cheery young man who gave a fantastic first impression and made us feel very welcome. We got to our room which was spacious and clean, the en suite bathroom was particularly attractive with little twinkly stars on the ceiling. We had no view from either window except fire escapes and other walls and windows, but we hadn't specified that we wanted a room with a view so we were not really bothered about this.The bed seemed comfy and was very cosy but during the night my husband and i kept waking up as the bed was actually 2 large singles put together and we kept ending up in a little space down the middle. I found the room itself to be cold at times as the heating only came on at certain times as controlled by the hotel. The next morning we went down for breakfast, the view from the restaurant was spectacular, the food was good, offering both hot and cold buffet style breakfast so good value for money and was really quite tasty. The serving staff in the morning though left a lot to be desired. They looked very grumpy which made the way they spoke seem abrupt. The soundtrack on both mornings of our stay was Boyzone's greatest hits....and although not the worst i'd heard i thought that they'd maybe have a better selection of music, maybe something relaxing from Scotland? I was recovering from an operation during my visit so i went for a nap shortly after breakfast. We ha d no "Do Not Disturb" sign in our room (my husband searched high and low) so he said he'd just ask the cleaning staff to leave our room for the time being for me. When the cleaning staff arrived at our door the knocked and my husband asked them politely to come back later. Their reply shocked me "Well you don't have the right sign on the door if you don't want to be disturbed then!" she shouted through the door at us. When my husband told them we didn't have one....we got no apology or anything she just walked away. I found this extremely rude and unprofessional. The reception staff during he day also looked very grumpy and unapproachable. The lounge was comfortable and warm and again with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and loch. Overall i feel that the day staff really let the hotel down. It is a beautiful old hotel in a wonderful location with spectacular views and the evening staff were charming and friendly. The morning serving staff, cleaners and day reception staff do not seem to enjoy their jobs at all making them grumpy and abrupt. Another point worth mentioning is that this hotel also allows dogs to stay, although this is good (we do have our own dog) we were woken up before 7am on our second morning by a dog barking and crying in a neighbouring room.Although this may seem like a negative review the i would go back again, the location is excellent and the food is good. I just hope they have more cheerful, welcoming staff next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and would return to stay with us.
As a team we discuss all feedback and I have gone over all points at our regular morning meetings. It was disappointing to read that you felt some of my staff were unhappy at their work and this we will address with departmental training. Hopefully on your next visit you will experience a more positive overall customer care feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutherland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before and liked it enough to go back. We had a three night stay this time . We like the character of the hotel and enjoy relaxing in the old library. We had a lovely clean room with a loch view and a nice big bathroom. The food was fine but as we were on a deal was a limited menu. We would have preferred having a larger menu which we would happily have paid more for. The staff are very attentive . For what you get overall it's a very good deal and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review following your 3 night break. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments on our menus which we are constantly reviewing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballachulish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballachulish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.