We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencoe Cafe

Glencoe Cafe
Lorn Drive | Glencoe Village, Ballachulish PH49 4HP, Scotland
+44 1855 811168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Ballachulish
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Start the day with our Scottish Breakfast using award winning Ramsays of Carluke black pudding and Argyll Aberdeen Angus Beef Lorne Sausage and free range eggs, Heinz Baked Beans and Smoked Bacon. Also Breakfast Rolls and lighter options such as Porridge and Home made fruit Compote or perhaps scrambled eggs with Argyll Kiln Roast Salmon. Light lunches are also on offer including our own recipe Sour Dough Bruschetta, Sandwiches, Home made Soups, Scottish Cheese Platter, Luxury Highland Venison and Pheashat Terrine, Homemade Lockerbie Cheddar and Fresh Herb Toasted Scones, Baked Potatoes... Not to mention our very popular Scottish Buffalo Burger! Delicious home-baked cakes, traybakes, cheesecakes, fruit pies & scones. To drink... Freshly roasted and ground coffees, herbal teas and luxury hot chocolates. Liqueur Coffees, French Wine, Cider, Beer, Ale and Malt Whisky.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the outside you may want to drive past, but stop! Step in and you are transported to a fantastic little cafe that produce the best sandwiches and snacks you could imagine, homemade cakes and scones. Awesome. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Owner at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave such a nice review, it's lovely to hear that your enjoyed your visit and enjoyed our food and home-baking. We strive to offer great quality food and drinks to our customers alongside friendly service, so it's great to know from our customers that we are getting it right. I do have to agree that the outside of our building is not the prettiest but we have worked to improve it as much as is possible over the last few years with a new fence, garden seating, and as many hanging baskets as I can possibly plant in my tiny greenhouse :) . Thank you again and hope to see you in Glencoe Cafe again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    64
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glorious home-made food in a café setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My Fiancée and I are locals who also work in the Hospitality Industry and have been coming here for nigh upon a year now. Consistently fantastic food, genuinely great service and an atmosphere unmatched in other local -or distant- Cafés. Justine & Jimmy are phenomenal hosts and have always made us feel at home even to the point of changing a recipe to remove animal gelatin from the cheesecake so that the -lifelong Vegetarian- apple of my eye could enjoy a slice too!

Aside from the home-made and delicious EVERYTHING there's a decent selection of drinks available and lots of interesting, quirky products lining their shelves from muffin/cookie mixes to candles, chocolate, postcards et al.

A class act indeed! Oh did I mention there's outdoor seating for the sunny days and that the prices are great? I did now! ;)

See you soon guys,
Al & Suus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Owner at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We really appreciate all your kind comments and it's great to know that we are getting it right for our customers. We have worked really hard over the last 3 years building our business and started out with the ethos that we would always offer quality and good service and that our customers would always come first. It has been a pleasure getting to know you both and we really appreciate your repeat custom. We were pleased to' tweak' our cheesecake recipe for Sus, she deserves a bit too!. Thanks again guys. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stumbled across this place on a cross country trip. What a find. Lovely sandwiches and paninis with quite unusual fillings and really good homebaking. Take away coffees were excellent also. Very friendly service and it has a nice organic/ethical trading ethos to it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Owner at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Cafe. It's great when we get such a lovely review and we know that we are getting it right for our customers. We are a small Cafe but we and our staff strive to consistently offer great quality food and coffee and high levels of customer service. Hope you manage to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have visited this small cafe on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. The quality of the food (especially the baking) is second to none. The service is fast and unobtrusive and no request is too much bother.
Give it a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Owner at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi there. Thank you so much for your very encouraging comments. We are so pleased to hear that you have received consistently high standards of quality and service during your visits to the cafe. We really do strive hard to achieve high levels of customer satisfaction at all times. Great to hear that you enjoy our baking, we are particularly proud that all of our baking is made daily on the premises. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We hadn't read any recommendations and randomly chose this café for lunch, and it proved to be an inspired choice. Some really good food on offer and pleasant service thrown in. Good value as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Owner at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Very glad to hear that you felt you had good value food and pleasant service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glencoe Cafe also viewed

 
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 

Been to Glencoe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencoe Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.