We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencoe Cafe

Glencoe Cafe
Lorn Drive | Glencoe Village, Ballachulish PH49 4HP, Scotland
+44 1855 811168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Ballachulish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Start the day with our Scottish Breakfast using award winning Ramsays of Carluke black pudding and Argyll Aberdeen Angus Beef Lorne Sausage and free range eggs, Heinz Baked Beans and Smoked Bacon. Also Breakfast Rolls and lighter options such as Porridge or perhaps scrambled eggs with Argyll Smoked Salmon. Light lunches are also on offer including Homemade soups, our own recipe Homemade Lockerbie Cheddar and Fresh Herb Toasted Scones, Baked Potatoes and Hot filled Panini... Not to mention our very popular Scottish Aberdeen Angus Steak Burger! Delicious home-baked cakes, traybakes, cheesecakes, fruit pies & scones. To drink... Freshly roasted and ground coffees, herbal teas and luxury hot chocolates. Liqueur Coffees, French Wine, Cider, Beer, Ale and Malt Whisky. Open 7 days 10am-5pm weekdays, 9.30Am-5pm weekends.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by accident, just looking around the main street in Glencoe and decided to stop in for lunch. Very unassuming exterior and clean, pleasant, and equally unassuming inside. The sandwiches and soups were very good and the friendly waiter made us laugh. Be sure to leave room for the cheesecake and other desserts that are made right there and are simply outstanding. Prices are extremely reasonable. It was no surprise to check TripAdvisor later and see all the great reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Manager at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit and thanks for taking the time to write your first Trip Advisor to review it - and also for the very kind comments :)
A happy accident for us too that you found the cafe, and we were glad the food and service was enjoyable - jokes and a smile cost no extra :)
If Glencoe ever calls you back from California in the future then you know where to visit - do pop in and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    75
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited the Glencoe Cafe because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. I chose the herb scone, which came with salmon, but asked for it with cheese, as I am a vegetarian. The request was accepted as no problem at all, delicious when served and I even got an unexpected price reduction when I paid. Service was exceptional and overall a very nice experience. No wonder it was packed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Manager at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for all the kind comments and for taking the time to review your visit. We're delighted we were able to satisfy your dietary requirements - with a small kitchen it isn't always easy - and without the Smoked Salmon it seemed only fair to reflect that in the price - quality AND value for money are two of our goals :)
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great wee place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We camped along the road at tge red squirrel and headed here for breakfast. A great wee cafe with nice friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Manager at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent visit and for the nice comments, we've had lots of bikers in over the holiday weekends so say hello next time you pop in - hopefully sometime soon :)
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All their food is lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Allan and I are regulars in Glencoe Cafe. It's great to take a wee time-out from day-to-day life and be treated nicely. It feels like a holiday, whenever we walk in. The soups are lovely, the cheese scones (with or without salmon) are great, the cheesecakes are heavenly.
Thanks guys, see you soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Manager at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments and for reviewing your most recent visit on Trip Advisor.
Regular customers are a lovely statement of confidence in the products and services we offer so are a great boost for us all :)
Look forward to seeing you both back soon, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“THE PLACE TO GO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This cafe is excellent. Although there is a menu on the table, you can have any combination of food on it, just ask and the fantastic staff will do it. It's a lovely place to sit with great views and the outside tables are great if you have dogs. The staff are brilliant, very helpfull and pleasant. The food is excellent but may take a little longer to come than some places, this is because it is obviously freshly cooked and nothing is heated up but who cares when you're in a nice place with nice people. I'll be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoecafe, Manager at Glencoe Cafe, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit and for the lovely comments - we do say we don't serve fast food, but we serve fresh food as fast as we can :)
It can be a challenge for a small kitchen to prepare any request but we try and offer alternatives where we can!
Edinburgh isn't too far away so hopefully we'll see you back in Glencoe in the not too distant future.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glencoe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Glencoe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencoe Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.