We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Islay Restaurant

White Hart Islay Restaurant
1 Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA427DF, Scotland
+44 (0)1496300120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Port Ellen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel has a good sized dining area so we had no trouble getting a table last minute. The food was very nice ( the fish was very fresh) and the service was good considering they were quite busy. Would definitely recommend as a nice cosy pub with good hearty food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fair, Hearty, Warm food in a cold island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The place looks today as it probably did decades ago. The food also looks and tastes old style, not from a freezer or a pre cooked vendor. Or have they fooled me ? I would go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hearty local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really good value for money with local produce. The chef clearly took pride in the presentation of the food adding a more modern slant on some pub classics. We ate in the bar which would've been quite cosy if there was some background music on. It all just felt a bit like we shouldn't have been there. We didn't stay for another drink but went to the Islay Hotel for the rest of the evening

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Views of Bowmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

a very quaint well rated restaurant in Port Charolette.
frequented by locals, with live music and local fare.
Very nice local menu and selection of drinks
Fantastic deserts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant - Food Just Ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My first evening in Islay I decided to have dinner at the White Hart Restaurant as I was staying at the hotel. I must say the atmosphere was not very quaint as I had hoped and the food was definitely not the best. The staff seemed pre-occupied with local gossip until someone (maybe a manager) arrived later and then service seemed to pick up later evening.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Islay Restaurant also viewed

Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to White Hart Islay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Islay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.