We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beckford Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beckford Arms
Save
You added The Beckford Arms to your Saves list
Fonthill Gifford, Tisbury SP3 6PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Tisbury B&B and Inns
RG27 8ND
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Visited for lunch with friends. Spacious rooms with large open fire. Reasonably priced and excellent bar food and good wines. Very stylish yet homely and best of all dogs were invited in and provided with huge bones and a bowl of water. What a find.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    43
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
149
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

A beautiful old coaching inn - blazing fire, comfy sofas, fantastic food and splendidly simple rooms in which to slumber. Feel your stresses and strains seap away. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I stopped in The Beckford Arms on Christmas Eve for the night and it really was as comfortable as being at home.

I was immediately impressed on arrival - a big open fire in the main bar area, Christmas music, attentive staff on hand immediately and a generally warm and lovely atmosphere. This is exactly what you hope to get when you come to a country pub and all too often, you are left disappointed. The Becford Arms management have clearly put a great deal of thought into getting all the detail right and have absolutely succeeded.

We were shown to a very nice, stylishly decorated room, where I enjoyed a hot bath made even better by the lovely selection of bath products in the rooms. Dinner was excellent - I would really recommend the lamb shoulder and the winelist is well priced.

We will definitely be back at The Beckford for a weekend break in the new year and would thoroughly recommend it on the basis on great food, great atmosphere, stylish decor and attentive service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Just came back from Beckford Arms with 16 friends. We took over all 8 of the bedrooms for 2 nights and had the most fantastic weekend stay. 3 course meal in the sitting room was beautiful, breakfasts are lovely, staff friendly and the decor is perfect. Ideal for a quick weekend out of London. HIGHLY recommend. We're heading back in the spring ...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I cannot comment on the hotel side of this establishment , I will say the staff were great and very attentive. We had a meal and although the food tasted excellent the portions were very small, a friend had previously commented on this after her recent visit but we still decided to give it a try. I had mature cheddar souffle on spinach and mushrooms which as a main course was far to small it took me less than 5 minutes to eat, it was more of a starter, another friend had salmon fishcakes and that is what he got ...with a little sauce...its not cheap and we all rather felt bad value for money.....lovely bulding and staff but would not eat their again as we left hungry.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I had a wonderful weekend at the Beckford Arms travelling with an old friend. I couldn't believe the place had only been open a mere 9 weeks. The food, service and attention to detail were spot on - all credit to the owner-run management for putting huge efforts into making this place so slick so early in its history. The decor is stylish but comfortable, they've spent money on the rooms in all the right places (very comfortable beds, plentiful fluffy towels and great products in the bathrooms) and I loved the sofas downstairs complete with all the Sunday papers - a real home from home (in fact I would be over the moon if my home was anything like this!).

The food was excellent. The breakfasts are a cut above the rest (given the very reasonable nightly b&b rate) complete with freshly squeezed juice, delcious pastries and lovely little details like a choice between hen or duck egg with your fry-up. That question alone pretty much sums up the Beckford - home from home only better. The evening meals managed to feel special and informal at the same time. Clever stuff. I loved the staff, who were discreet, friendly and again got it just right.

I work in the travel industry and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world - and yet was seriously impressed by the Beckford and the careful thought process that has gone into it. It's not ground-breaking or flashy or edgy but I know from experience that it can be harder to create something traditional yet contemporary, subtle and supremely comfortable that appeals to a wide range of people and will have real longevity.

There's loads to do in the area from great walks to antique hunting on rainy days. A great place to go with friends or perfect to hole up with someone you love for a cosy weekend. Congratulations to the team on getting it right - and I'm sure the place will go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I have been visiting the Beckford Arms for many years but I must say that the new regime has taken it to a new level. Everything about the place oozes style and sophistication while at the same time remaining down to earth and friendly.
Rooms are stylish and comfortable if a little small although the prices fairly reflect this. The food is simply fantastic and, in my opinion represents excellent value for money. The beer and wine is also top-notch - the Flowerpots ales in particular.
Service is friendly and professional and I certainly hope to be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beckford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beckford Arms

Address: Fonthill Gifford, Tisbury SP3 6PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Tisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beckford is situated on the edge of beautiful Wiltshire rolling parkland. It is a country pub with 8 simple but elegant bedrooms, a restaurant, a private dining room, a sitting room and a wonderful mature rambling garden with hammocks under shady trees. Bedrooms include bespoke, handmade natural bathroom products and guests may borrow DVDs from the library to watch in their rooms. On Sunday nights a classic movie is shown in the sitting room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beckford Arms Hotel Tisbury
The Beckford Arms Wiltshire/Tisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beckford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.