We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swimming Pool
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
From the Courtyard
Lacock
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mike V
Ingelmunster, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
“what a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very nice welcome awaited us on arrival, with a bottle of wine, home made jam and fresh vegetables from the garden. Thank you Fiona. The coach house itself is cosy, comfortable and spacy. Excellent beds and clean and spacy bathrooms. The mediterranean-like pool is great, and the settings are brilliant, but we will miss the little swallows in the barn even more. For people like us that like to "see things" the location near Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Lacock, Bradford-upon-Avon was ideal and even Glastonbury and Winchester were not too far away. But I would also recommend the place for who only looks for a quiet relaxing stay at the countryside.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the friendly welcome
Liked least: very hard to tell... (perhaps driving left)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and it was lovely to meet you. I hope the coats you left behind have arrived back safely.
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FrauAnna9...
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, cosy, cottage, excellent location, friendly owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at 'The Coach House'. Beautifully renovated cottage, a very homely feel and clean:-). The owners were very friendly and kind. A welcome 'pack' included the most delicious jar of homemade jam. Our children loved the extremely friendly dogs and the chickens at the end of the garden. Perfect location in Wiltshire, beautiful countryside and convenient for many National Trust/English Heritage sites and the city of Bath. We highly recommend this cottage and look forward ourselves to returning in the future.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The friendly owners and the homely feel of the cottage and it's generous size.
Liked least: A couple of draughty windows (but we live in Switzerland where that doesn't exist!;-)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mum0ftw0m...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent base to explore the county of Wiltshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just arrived back from a week at The Coach House, we have had a wonderful time. The Coach House is set in the grounds of The Old Vicarage, it is beautiful. The house itself is very warm and inviting and despite the recent cold spell we were never cold. There is a wood burning stove that just adds to the character of the place. The beds were very comfy and everything was clean and as you would expect. The twin room has a shower room attached which is fantastic. The main bedroom has a bath, but we tended to use the shower room in the twin room. The children loved the outside, there is plenty of safe area around the house where the children were able to use their bikes and play ball. It was great. We had thought that we may have picked somewhere a bit out in the sticks when we looked at google earth, but to be honest we found the location to be very central to everywhere we wanted to go. The nearest town is Devizes which is definately worth a couple of visits and you can get everything you need here. We travelled to Longleat, Bath and Bristol all were within an hour of the house, which we thought was just perfect. We went to Lacock which was beautiful and where a number of tv programmes have used as a set. We also went to Caan Hill Locks from here, Stonehenge and the White Horse. It was a really good location to go from. The owners were very nice, helpful and inviting. All in all a great place to stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The large open airy feel to the whole house.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rose O
Versailles, France
1 review
“Feels like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

From the moment we arrived at Coach House we felt like we were at home. The house is spacious, bright, well equipped and welcoming. The little extras, fresh flowers in every room, wine in the refrigerator and cakes on the table, were greatly appreciated upon arrival. The views and walks in the Wiltshire countryside are refreshing. I hope to return to Coach House soon and often!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: We were very comfortable and felt at home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adrian101...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing property that has everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The property and grounds were outstanding. The advertisement does not do the property any justice. The property was immaculate in design and cleanliness and it was evident the house has been loved in a personal way. The owners were very kind and at hand at all times and make you feel very welcome. What would have made the stay would have been a local pub at the end off the lane as you do need a vehicle to get to one or get a taxi which are expensive . Would definitely stay again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Fantastic lounge and kitchen area.
Liked least: The rain during the holiday
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RoseandJe...
Creswick, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Three of us stayed for nearly a week in this lovely home: the renovations of the old coach house have been sensitively and practically completed so that it has a comfortable, even luxurious feel. The beds and bedding are of very good quality, the bathrooms clean and large, and the views are spectacular. We cooked for ourselves in the well stocked kitchen. Using this as a base, we visited many of the beautiful little villages nearby, and the significant sites. Fiona made us very welcome. I could not recommend this place more highly.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location, and the comfortable ambiance of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$313
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Fiona D
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 7 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing