We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly folk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Lion to your Saves list
The Red Lion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High Street, Lacock SN15 2LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly folk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Small but nicely-decorated, clean room with lovely big bathroom and great shower. We’d done a deal to include a two course dinner and were advised that there was a party of 30 in at 8pm so we wisely opted for early dining.
Good food from limited menu which, I always think, is a good sign. ‘Im indoors had liver which apparently was great, my beef bourguignon very tasty. Tried to finish over-large but delicious chocolate brownie but it got the better of me.
Cheery waitress served slightly disappointing breakfast but, let’s face it, no-one cooks scrambled eggs as good as me.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
79
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

One of the best pubs we've stayed. Rooms were crisp and beautifully decorated. We had a 3 year boy with us and the staff were very friendly and helpful. (playground out the back) The food was very high quality, and I would recommend eating by the fire in the winter. Perfectly located to explore Lacock and only a few miles from Bath. The other main pub in the village was a bit stinky, so if you're tossing a coin, go for this one. It's under new managment, so I would think it would get better over the next year as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chamberlain View - it was the cheapest/smallest room but it was perfect for 3 of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed two nights at the Red Lion. We had a large and very comfortable room (Tithe Side). Breakfast was excellent, we also ate dinner there in the evening and had very good food, ample portions of well prepared home made food. the chef/ manager was an excellent chef, preparing cyclist size portions of very healthy food. Delicious. His friendly wife was very helpful with suggestions of places we could visit on our bikes. All were perfect.
The pub was clean, friendly staff who knew their selection of wines and gave sound recommendations. We were offered secure parking for our bikes. Everyone really went out of their way to make us comfortable. The staff even lit a fire for us on the last night at our request- it was nice to have the cosy flames light up the room.
Many thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Red Lion. We stayed in The Cloisters room which was very comfortable and tastefully furnished in a duck egg blue and white colour scheme - very relaxing. We had everything we needed in the room including luxury toiletries and thick fluffy white towels in the en-suite.
Most the staff were friendly and helpful particularly the breakfast service staff and assistant manager, Stuart. The Wiltshire breakfasts were wonderful and lived up to their award.
There was some noise from the bar below but as our room was directly above the bar we expected this. It didn't keep us awake at all.
Lacock is a fascinating historical village well worth a walk around. The ladies in the national Trust shop on the High Street are very helpful in recommending places to visit on wet days etc.. We followed their suggestions and got to visit some amazing local places including Castle Coombe village where War Horse was recently filmed.
We both felt very relaxed after our 3 day stay at this hotel and would recommend it especially if you haven't explored this area before. It's a hidden gem!

Room Tip: The Cloisters room has a low ceiling and beams which we loved. However, all the other rooms have hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel set in the picturesque village of Lacock and combines the best of contemporary amenities while staying true to its history.
Check-in was quick, easy and welcoming.
Staff were very friendly and really went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed.
We did have a small maintenance issue with our room which was fixed very, very quickly.
The rooms were spacious, even by British standards, the bed comfortable and the ensuite was modern and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast in the morning, served in the bar downstairs, was ample and tasty.
There was a little noise from the bar downstairs, but all was quiet by 11pm, so it really wasn't an issue.
The view from our room, looked down a quaint little street that has remained unchanged since mediaeval times. What more could you ask for in terms of historical ambiance?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion after a lovely visit to Bath for my husband's birthday. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and attentive. The room exceeded all our expectations as was very spacious, very well equipped, clean and very, very tastefully decorated with furnishings and attention to detail. We loved the window seats especially as the lovely large windows with shutters made it a good feature. Both bed and bed linen were luxurious and brand new. The lovely en-suite was very well equipped and spacious. We had dinner downstairs in the evening and I have to say the food was amazing. My husband had the ribeye (his favourite cut) and it melted in your mouth. I had the haddock which was cooked perfectly. Our breakfast was equally as good in the morning, with a good selection and very filling. The staff were so attentative at all times.
We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend as a romantic getaway to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This charming hotel is well worth staying over for. It has great character and history, the room were well equipped, clean and tastefully decorated. We also had dinner and the food was extremely good, although they were very busy. The staff could not do enough for you, polite, attentive and very knowledgeable about the area and history. Well worth the visit and a great base for exploring the delightful village of Lacock, fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: 1 High Street, Lacock SN15 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Lacock
Red Lion Lacock
Lacock Red Lion
The Red Lion Lacock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.