We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobbery” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sign of the Angel

Sign of the Angel
6 Church Street, Lacock SN15 2LB, England
+44 1249 730230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Lacock
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Snobbery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner went here for Saturday lunch with a friend who was visiting from London, we ordered our food, fish and chips, steak sandwich & a lamb dish. We then ordered a side of onion rings to which the owner while looking down her nose at us then replied .....we are not that sort of establishment.....

What sort of establishment do you need to be to serve a side of onion rings with fish and chips and a steak sandwich....

I wouldn't mind if she turned round to us and said 'no sorry we don't serve onion rings as a side here'
But to reply in such a demeaning way.

Really put me off going there again!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom n, Owner at Sign of the Angel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your comments.

It is important for us to hear feedback on all aspects of the customer experience and I will brief the team to ensure that the same situation doesn't occur again.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our offering and want all customers to have a good experience, and can I assure you that we will continue to develop to ensure that each and every customer can enjoy their visit.

Please get in touch if you have further comments at info@signoftheangel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    17
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented and tasteful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We had lunch on saturday and it was delightful, beautifully presented and service was excellent too. Choice of two menus but they did mix and match for us. We didn't book and we were fortunate they had a table available, my advice would be to book. Will definately be returning, this time we were just passing but in future it will be our destination for a meal.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom n, Owner at Sign of the Angel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Moria,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to see that you found our offering to your taste and that you recognised the work our staff - it is of course vital that the quality of food & service go hand-in-hand.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Tom & the Angel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Visited as a result of FB reviews and we were not disappointed. Food was great- nice little touches like the gun sorbet between courses. The beef was good/ tender and soft. The apple and sultana creme brûlée was twice the size I'd expected and really excellent. The waitress was a delight. We had a vegetarian amongst us who didn't like mushrooms- the veggie option was mushroom risotto. She found an alternative which was declared excellent. Additionally, a lovely place - old, bags of character and quirky. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom n, Owner at Sign of the Angel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your comments.

Glad you had a good Sunday lunch, and that we were able to cater for your needs.

It is also nice to know that it was through Social Media that prompted your visit.

Hope see you again soon,

Tom & the Angel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent but . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Four of us had a 1:00 booking on a saturday. The staff was cheerful and helpful. There were two menus, the regular and a specials menu. Both were short but interesting. Before we ordered, we were advised that they were out of one item on each menu, one of which was the pie of the day (my choice.) When we finally decided on lunch, we were told that they might only have one fish left. But they did have just 3. The food was delicious, the price was good! I would go again but would not stay if they were so depleted. Btw, many people came after us and most had fish and chips.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom n, Owner at Sign of the Angel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
SD,

Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our food.

I can understand a customers concern if certain items on the menu are not available later in service. We are committed to serving fresh, seasonal produce and thus do not store large quantities of fresh food items and the kitchen preps food daily.

Of course, we are working hard at finding the balance with produce that we order in and the number of customers each day - though on some days if a certain item or 2 on the menu proves popular early on, later guests have missed out which we don't want.

I can assure you that coming into our first Spring/Summer we are focusing on our supplier orders to ensure that we don't run out of items, without leaving wastage.

Many thanks again,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and really friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We popped in for a meal last night at the end of walking the dog. The waitress went to check if there was a table then happily escorted us in dog, walking clothes and all! She put us in a corner so the dog wouldn't disturb other diners and brought him a bowl of water which made us very happy. All the staff were very friendly and happy to chat. The food was amazing!! I had duck off the specials menu and couldn't of asked for anything better. My partner had hake and was very impressed with his too. Pudding was pretty special as well. I recommend the brownie! Before our meal they provided bread on the house which is always appreciated. The atmosphere was great, you didn't feel rushed and everyone was relaxed. The staff were quick to bring refills when asked as well. One understandable point made is that if your are bringing a canine companion they prefer you to book ahead and let them know so you can have a corner seat. It's better for dogs and humans! Only improvement would be better doors on the toilets (they did not feel private!) and maybe offer doggie meals? Rice and veg with gravy? Or even just keep some chews handy and it would be perfect!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom n, Owner at Sign of the Angel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Alisha,

Thank you for your comments - glad to hear you enjoyed our food and the service.

Will look into our dog food options!

Best Wishes,

Tom & The Angel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sign of the Angel also viewed

Lacock, Wiltshire
Lacock, Wiltshire
 

Been to Sign of the Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sign of the Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.