We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell

The Bell
The Wharf, Bowden Hill, Lacock SN15 2PJ, England
01249 730308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Lacock
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
bath
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We ate at the Bell recently after having it recommended to us. All of the staff were helpful and very cheery, nothing was too much trouble. Both meat and veggy dishes were tasty and the portion sizes just right. Deserts from the extensive menu were equally delicious. We will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    30
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great garden if you have young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good food reasonably priced, very helpful and friendly staff and as I suggest from the title, we have a little 18 month old and it's relaxing to find somewhere you can sit and eat where children are safe. The garden is nicely fenced off and has a few basic play things, Wendy House and climbing thingies. If the weather is good, certainly somewhere we would return,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistent Service and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If we are looking for a nice family friendly pub that serves good freshly cooked "pub grub" then the Bell is always a sure bet, service with a smile and reasonable prices...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Please change the menu!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Bell is a lovely pub with lovely staff in a lovely village. They have a great beer garden and in the summer we are regulars after work for a quick meal and a drink in the evening sunshine. They are regularly in the top 3 CAMRA pubs in North Wiltshire and the range of real ales reflects why. The only problem that I have with the pub is the menu. It is extensive and the food is usually good value and you get plenty of it, however, the menu never seems to change. If you are a veggie the same dishes have been on there for years and the rest of the menu has the same problem, on the whole. There is a specials board but again it always seems to be the same specials. If you only go a couple of times a year it's not to bad, but even so they need to have a revamp. There was a time when they were undoubtedly one of the best pubs for food in the area, but now there are so many other pubs doing equally as good food if not better, that it does make the menu at The Bell look rather tired and ordinary. Nothing wrong with the food, but they need to buck their ideas up a bit. Wont stop me from going there though and I look forward to many more evenings sitting the garden over a nice pint of ale.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times now for family get - togethers and would thoroughly recommend a visit if you're in the area. Food is good. Also there is a good selection of Real Ales, all I've never heard of. Service is efficient and friendly. We will definitely be visiting again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.