We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper food-proper Pub !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Wheatsheaf Inn
Broad Street, Cuckfield RH17 5DW, England
+44 (0)1444 454078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Cuckfield
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Proper food-proper Pub !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want a pub meal that isnt "ping" cuisine (as in microwave !) definatley give the Wheatsheaf a try!Great choice friendly atmosphere and attentive waiting staff.With so many pubs closing these days this is one that deserves to keep its doors open !Beers good too !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely food - nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Recently popped into the Wheatsheaf after a few years away. It has been remodelled since our last visit and must say that is hugely improved. Had lunch and it was scrummy! Freshly prepared and good size portions too. The service was very friendly and the whole visit was great. Will definitely pop back when we are next in Cuckfield.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family pub & welcoming to anyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I am a fairly regular visitor here, eaten many times, the staff are always friendly & the service is fab. Food is always good & the Sunday roasts are the best in the area! Overall this is a great pub with great food & athmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just moved into the area, First visit we were made very welcome so have returned several times since. The food is tasty, well presented with generous portions. The Sunday roast is especially to be recommended. All the staff were very accommodating and Rob always goes the extra mile to make you feel at home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very busy, very popular and food was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This isn't, but also doesn't sell it self as a gastro pub. The SUnday Roast we had when we visited was good, service was a little slow, but they were very busy, and all in all we got what we paid for. I would go back, so that says something, and it provided us with warm tasty fuel for the walk we had after the food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Cuckfield, West Sussex
Cuckfield, West Sussex
 
Cuckfield, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatsheaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.