We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming Haven from the Snow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Wheatsheaf Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wheatsheaf Inn to your Saves list
Wheatsheaf Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Broad Street, Cuckfield RH17 5DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cuckfield B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Welcoming Haven from the Snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Wheatsheaf out of necessity when we had blizzard conditions in Sussex in March. The staff were extremely accommodating and saved my the last room whilst I was stuck in gridlock traffic just outside the pub.

The food was excellent and the pub has a very friendly atmosphere, free wi-fi and good beer. My room was very comfortable with good facilities. I would definitely recommend the Wheatsheaf as a place to eat or stay. I didn't get a chance to try their breakfast as I headed straight back into the snow the following morning but only after borrowing a coat from the barman which is a testament to the excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
13
23
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
croydon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed his with my partner as we had to attend a party locally. I have not stayed in an Inn/Pub before so I was a little bit nervous plus the pictures on the website so not do this place justice.
Nice cosy little pub with nice clean rooms upstairs. The only negative was the shower, it was not the best but the room and breakfast where second to none.

Give it a try if staying locally

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst away on business. Comfortable room, friendly atmosphere and good tast food. I'll stay here again if down that way. Only downside is the walls in the rooms can be a bit thin - could here the telly in next room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stay at the Wheatsheaf whenever I am working in the area and it never disappoints. Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly/helpful staff, a good range of ales, good quality menu and friendly locals who are welcoming to visitors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Welcoming, cheerful, warm and comfortable. Friendly staff, good breakfast and a quick check-out. Part of a pub on main road to Haywards Heath so don’t expect tranquillity.
Booked on the fly when I cancelled nearby Travelodge at Wickstead

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road. Not much sleep after 6.30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Self assessed at 3 star and about right. Friendly staff and clean room. Freshly cooked breakfast very good. The single room as reasonably well appointed , however the ensuite Bath/Shower a bit tight. Reasonable value at this level and perfect for my purposes a one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

You get a warm welcome. Restaurant / Bar food is varied and very good value. Hotel rooms are good value for what you actually pay, and have all the basics allong with Flat Screen TV's , shampoo, etc. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order.

If you're in the area on business or a short stay and are on a budget; it's definately worth considering

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: Broad Street, Cuckfield RH17 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cuckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Cuckfield
Wheatsheaf Inn Cuckfield, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatsheaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.