We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some bad - not as good as it sounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Ockenden Lane, Cuckfield RH17 5LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Some good some bad - not as good as it sounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Started off by staying in a spa room, beautiful with lovely outside terrace which unfortunately some people seem to think they can just walk by -staring straight into your room! Spa treatments fabulous, girls friendly and professional. After that it goes downhill, lunch in reception area, not great as sitting in dressing gowns when people are coming in and out is not appealing. Lunch okay. Too many children in the pool and throwing ice around while parents just watch is not becoming of a top class spa!! Woman drinking coffee in hot tub - we thought unacceptable but staff said nothing. Went for a meal in the restaurant in the evening (for my birthday) had booked a table for 8pm but was ushered into the bar for a drink first. At approx 8.30pm we asked when table would be ready - only to be told "some people turned up late so we are running behind", unacceptable again, if they are late they should have to wait - not the guests who turn up on time! Maitre'd kindly waived the £11.50 extra charge for larger menu. Dinner was okay - I disliked the scallops and on telling the waiter was met by laughter! Not what we expected when Michelin star dining. Sea bass cooked to perfection but would have like some vegetables or potatoes (why does fine, very expensive dining have to be so small), dessert gorgeous. Shame we had to wait nearly an hour for a table though. Slept well, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was a complete let down, no spoons, no glasses, had to keep asking, toast came too early, so we ordered our cooked breakfast, poached eggs and mushrooms, with more toast - 2 poached eggs came out with a teaspoon size portion of mushrooms (are they very expensive in that part of the world?). Waited then for toast! Had to ask for sugar and milk. Have enjoyed better breakfasts in more basic hotels. The lady in reception did have the decency to remove these from the bill (breakfast is approx £15). The hotel seems to think it should be some grand country manor but can't live up to its own hype. Need more experienced staff in the dining room particularly and the spa should have exclusive hours for adults only. It was just like a municipal swimming pool on a Sat afternoon! We paid a lot of money for a birthday weekend and it was spoilt by some many things, wouldn't recommend this hotel only for a day spa!

Room Tip: Definately book a spa room, large, beautiful rooms just beware nosy people wandering past on the ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckendenManor, Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments; however we do operate family swim times which are as follows:
10am until 11am and 3.30pm until 5pm each day.

During all other times it is an adults only facility.

If our guests wish to drink coffee or even champagne in the outdoor hot tub they are more than welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    112
    50
    25
    14
See reviews for
47
254
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very nice hotel with recently built Spa. Hotel quite quaint and quirky but with some lovely old features. Staff welcoming both in hotel and spa, which is contempory and chic - perhaps a little out of keeping but with all facilities. Excellent meal with professional serving team.
Not cheap but for a special occasion

Room Tip: Went for the upgrade room - character and charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for a single night on a midweek special, attracted by the Michelin starred restaurant. The spa and spa staff were fab, the overall ambiance of the hotel was slightly stuffy - but that is probably to be expected from a Country House Hotel (but not sure why!) and the staff were fine, especially the very sweet receptionist who found me a couple of paracetamol from her bag (headache was not a hangover!). However, I would put the starter - I had artichokes - and played hunt the artichoke - OH had scallops which were apparently very good - main course itself (I had sea bass, OH had venison) as OK but not really special, they go in for the fashionable piling all the food up on the plate method which I am not keen on but that is, of course, subjective. However, to be fair, all the little extras - bread, chefs comps bits and the puddings were lovely.
Breakfast was nothing to write home about - very run of the mill. No muesli or porridge, only orange juice, and the standard English breakfast menu. I decided on poached eggs and grilled tomato but will say they were perfectly cooked.
All in all it was a pleasant evening - but at nearly £400 for a single night - including one double spa treatment (manicure), 3 glasses of non too special wine, a tonic and a brandy I was rather disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a fantastic stay at Ockenden Manor, and just had to write a review! An absolutely faultless stay, I can't find one negative thing to say.
We stayed in one of the new spa suites in the actual spa building at the hotel and it was simply stunning! Enormous bed, soft duvet and pillows, huge room with a rooftop patio and view, bathroom with enormous bath and walk in drench shower, not a single thing was missing. Under-floor heating and a nespresso coffee machine were nice touches that finished the room perfectly.
We had an enjoyable massage each in the spa itself, and the pool, hot-tub and general facilities were again perfect. The staff were polite and helpful, and the facilities clean and well maintained.
Then there was dinner.....!
WOW, we stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast special, and for dinner were given a smaller menu, however we paid the £11.50 each to upgrade to the a la carte menu, and were not disappointed. The service was attentive, but not overbearing, and the food absolutely stunning. I strongly recommend the venison! A good selection of wine on the house menu too.
I could write forever about how good this place is, but go an stay for yourself and see what I mean! The staff were also friendly and polite, not snotty or condescending in the slightest!
A fabulous stay, we will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had a lovely time at Ockenden Manor, I was very impressed with the room and all the spa facilities. Our room had such a brilliant character and was very luxurious with it's four poster bed and Tudor decor. The spa is brand new and the therapists are very welcoming. My parter and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing break in the country

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked this hotel for a 2 night stay, Friday/Saturday Night on the 14th/15th of September 2012. Due to the fact we got married on Saturday I was forbidden from the room on the Friday and only stayed the Saturday myself. We stayed in the 'Hugh' room opposed to the specific Honeymoon Suite as we were advised that they are similarly priced and that 'Hugh' was nicer and had more floor space for the bridesmaids to get ready in the morning on the Wedding Day.

The service was excellent and the cooked breakfast in the morning was great. My new wife and her friends loved the Spa and took full advantage of the treatments on offer.

There were a couple of little gripes that prevent me from giving a 5/5 rating.

Firstly, in the bathroom, the walk-in shower drainage must have had a small blockage and when in shower for more than minute the water would start to overflow onto the bathroom floor. Also the toilet seat was broken. I know these are very trivial problems, and would not even warrant a mention in my reviews of hotels I usually stay at. However, with the amount of money this room cost I would not expect to have any problems like this.

Secondly, The girls had brought a bottle of champagne to the hotel and specifically asked a member of staff if there was a corkage charge, which they were told there was not. However, on checking out there was indeed a £15 charge.

I would recommend this hotel for a short country break, in a lovely, small, quiet village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I had a fabulous 2 day spa break. We were able to use the spa for two days with a complimentary £30 spa voucher. The shower /changing facilities are excellent with large rain showers with complimentary tea/coffees. We had one night in the most beautiful medieval style room in the old part of the hotel. At the top of our own integral staircase, there was a large lounge area to the left and separate bedroom/en suite on the right. A truly memorable, relaxing two days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa

Address: Ockenden Lane, Cuckfield RH17 5LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ockenden Manor is a charming and tranquil Elizabethan Manor House tucked away in Cuckfield, one of the prettiest Tudor villages in England. With its history and character, elegant sitting room warmed by a roaring log fire and cosy, wood panelled bar, it's a wonderful place to escape to and yet it is just an hour from London and 20 minutes drive from Gatwick. The hotel is set in nine acres of peaceful gardens and parkland with views across the West Sussex countryside to the South Downs and some of the great gardens and stately homes of Sussex and Kent are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ockenden Manor Hotel And Spa
Ockenden Manor Hotel Cuckfield
Ockenden Manor Cuckfield
Hotel Ockenden Manor
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa Cuckfield, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.