We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem right on the coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cafe - Porlock Weir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Cafe - Porlock Weir to your Saves list
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
Porlock Weir | Somerset, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem right on the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I booked this hotel with the strange name on booking.com and was not sure about the exact location, but it exceeded our expectations. We had a beautiful view over the bay and ocean (previously requested), and the staff (married couple who do most things there) were great. It is small but very friendly, with a bar and nice restaurant.
We were not expecting such great food, and had overeaten at lunch time, but the tasting menu looked delicious (others commented on the large size of the main dish). We had soup and shell fish, which were both excellent, with a nice bottle of wine.
I can't overrate this hotel enough as it great in every way - much better than other hotels we stayed in later!

Room Tip: Choose a room with views over the harbor and bay - it's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    37
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
165
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great night's stay and supper after our first day's walk on the SWCP. Very friendly welcome. Big bedroom with nice sea views. Very comfortable lounge for pre-supper drinks and coffee afterwards. Cooking high quality. Delicious desserts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my surprise birthday ,very warm welcome service food excellant a lovely friendly village with a seaview and nice pubs ideal for a romantic gettaway or just to re fuel would reccommend to family friends the only little negative was a few corner missed on cleaning ideal place if you want to take a dog away with you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on a deal from Travelzoo and found it to be excellent value. Our room had a fabulous view enabling us to sit and relax before dinner.
The seafood set menu was tasty, well cooked and presented and represented excellent value.
The bed was comfortable, although better quality pillows would be a good investment.
All in all an enjoyable stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Oh yes! We have visited and stayed in Porlock Wier for many years, always at another hotel which has changed hands.
Such a friendly and professional service here, very personal, excellent, really excellent, food and what a location.
We had to take a back room but no matter, this did not spoil the visit at all.
Do yourself a favour and try it, you may find one visit is not enough.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view could mean you would never get out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Dorset England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at The Café recently through a Travel Zoo deal. Bed and Breakfast and 5 course fish extravaganza meal in the evening. Didn't know what to expect as with some special offer deals you get treated as a second class citizen and it is not good value. However this deal was totally different. We were treated very well from the time we arrived to the time we left. The 5 course meal was excellent. The room was very comfortable with sea views and the bed was very comfy. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We did not select our room but with sea views I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Warm welcome, great afternoon tea, fine views and a first class room, Drinks were reasonably priced and our five course tasting menu was beautifully presented and each mouthful was a delight, we slept like logs and ate a breakfast that kept us going until the next evening meal. All in all a Travel zoo bargain We would certainly consider coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cafe - Porlock Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cafe - Porlock Weir

Address: Porlock Weir | Somerset, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Exmoor National Park in front of the 13th Century harbour at Porlock Weir, Somerset. The Cafe, formerly known as ‘Andrews on the Weir’, was relaunch in Summer of 2011 for those who want to enjoy the countryside retreat by the sea but weren’t prepared to compromise on high standards in accommodation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cafe - Porlock Weir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cafe - Porlock Weir Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cafe - Porlock Weir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.