We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cafe - Porlock Weir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Cafe - Porlock Weir to your Saves list
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
Porlock Weir | Somerset, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Brilliant time at the cafe! Staf were excellent, food amazing and a very relaxed feel! Full english was excellent followed by an early morning stroll. Lovely part of the world, will defiantly be heading back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    38
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
166
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The South West Coast Path goes past the door and this part of Exmoor is fantastic for walking.we love walking and then having a really good meal cooked by Chef Andrew and a good nights sleep followed by an excellent Breakfast and of course another walk!.We recommend this hotel we enjoyed a very welcome from Sarah.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are best.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed one night and had the 5 course Fish tasting menu. Every aspect of the experience was excellent. The welcome was warm , the room was clean and comfortable, the service was great the food both in the evening and breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just had a very enjoyable Christmas lunch at The Cafe, service was excellent and the food as good, if not better than in some of the more upmarket restaurants we have had the good fortune to eat in, we could not recommend it highly enough. We were only discussing if we would come back next year. Well done to Sarah and all her very considerate staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We live locally and have visited the restaurant many times but have never stayed overnight before. However we took advantage of a seasonal offer and stayed on 7th December. Friendly welcome and excellent service from Gregor our Hungarian waiter. Excellent 5 course fish tasting menu. Large, comfortable, freshly decorated, spotlessly clean, sea view room with large bay window overlooking the harbour. Excellent, generous, full english breakfast in the morning followed by a stroll around the area. Absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had this booked as a birthday treat for my husband's birthday and it was everything you could want and expect for a winter's week end by the coast. Fantastic views, beautiful room, friendly and helpful staff and excellent food.
Unfortunately, our stay was a little spoilt by illness but the staff were so considerate and helpful it meant we could be a bit more flexible

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had the most fantastic time at the Cafe Porlock Weir... We did a travel zoo deal and it was fantastic value for money!!! We thought that the food was great and the view from our room was beautiful. The staff were also really friendly and helpful!! My only negative would be that breakfast is not served till 8.30am. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cafe - Porlock Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cafe - Porlock Weir

Address: Porlock Weir | Somerset, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Exmoor National Park in front of the 13th Century harbour at Porlock Weir, Somerset. The Cafe, formerly known as ‘Andrews on the Weir’, was relaunch in Summer of 2011 for those who want to enjoy the countryside retreat by the sea but weren’t prepared to compromise on high standards in accommodation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cafe - Porlock Weir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cafe - Porlock Weir Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cafe - Porlock Weir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.