We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal at The Ship” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bottom Ship

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock Weir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bottom Ship
Save
You added The Bottom Ship to your Saves list
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal at The Ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed next door at The Anchor which did not serve evening meals so ate at The Bottom Ship. The staff were friendly and food good. Loved the chicken sweet chilli stir fry! Fries were nice and crispy and beef and ale pie lean meat and no fat. Enjoyed our meals! I think they may be under new management

Room Tip: Had to put in something on rooms and sleep quality to submit this review so take notice of the repli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just come back from this place where the staff behind the bar were ok but the food was bloody awful and served with a scowl.No salt, pepper or sauces were offered so got my own from inside. Bog standard mass produced burger with chips for a tenner with the sauce already mixed in and a very strange 'sweet chilli chicken' with noodles. Extremely disappointing as the pub looks nice plus we've had some excellent meals in the area this week which just highlighted the terrible value of this one even more!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabie, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Conveniently situated for the first night of the South West Coast Path. Young, casual staff. Check-in at the bar (it was a busy Easter Monday lunch-time 2:30pm). Fair-sized twin-bed room above the bar, fortunately not too noisy that evening. Lovely hot bath, gel and shampoo provided. Bed-side light not working, so had to ask for another bulb. Breakfast OK, cereal and full English, but no fruit, yogurts or pastries. Overall, good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend in a clean and welcoming spacious room, complementary wine on arrival was a lovely touch. Staff were welcoming and friendly, food was what you would expect from an Inn. The setting is fantastic, enjoying many walks in stunning scenery, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night while walking the South West Coast Path. The bedroom and en-suite were not particularly clean and there were no helpful instructions, eg on where the switch for the electric shower was! The water supply to the shower kept cutting out and coming back on cold. I did report this, so don't know whether they will have had it fixed, but the staff weren't particularly bothered by it. I felt they didn't need to try because there wasn't much competition in Porlock Weir, but of the 10 B&Bs we stayed in, this was definitely the worst as well as the most expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were en route to Devon and had been here before when we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The place was busy as usual but have some change ready as you have to pay to park (80p per hour) before one really starts and there is no rebate system in the pub. We plumped for the fresh crab mayonnaise sandwiches with rocket from the extensive but pretty ordinary menu. Staff were attentive and friendly. First problem was the awful coffee machine which dispensed our two cappuccinos. It was one of these powdered milk and coffee jobs which does the whole thing. No body or flavour though, just a semi-hot cup of coloured water. Then the sandwiches arrived. Disaaaster, darling! A smear of brown crab meat, and I mean a smear, on a sliced supermarket-style loaf with rocket (makes me cough) and salad garnish. Why oh why do they have to put crisps on the plate? We had rather hoped for a good thick crab mixture of white and brown meat in a locally made loaf cut into four and not plonked on the plate as a doorstep. And they had the neck to charge 5p short of 6 quid for this pittance!! Ah well, we will revert to the Ship in the High Street next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

we stayed here end of August for a short break (we run a B&B!) the room was large and looked at first quite acceptable but on closer inspection yesterdays dog hairs were still all over the carpet! the window latch was on the floor! and a piece of furniture with kettle etc on it was damaged and had nails sticking out of it making it dangerous. The bathroom was in poor condition, goodness knows how old it was but I think the shower curtain was nearly as old as the pine cladding! and holes in the ceiling.
On the other hand the staff were pleasant and the food was good. I'd go back here but im not sure i'd stay at the ship unless the cleaner is retrained and the bathroom is updated, Sorry Bottom Ship its a thumbs down :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bottom Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bottom Ship

Address: Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bottom Ship Porlock Weir, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bottom Ship, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.