We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millers At The Anchor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Millers At The Anchor to your Saves list
Millers At The Anchor
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA248PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights in November. Beautiful setting and a lovely hotel. Our room had a huge and very comfortable 4-poster bed and a wonderful sea view. Love the hotel décor and all the books everywhere. Food and drink of a very high standard and staff could not have been more helpful. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    85
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
31
211
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you value something unique and don't want to stay in a run of the mill hotel and appreciate stunning views and fabulous food; then book yourself into this hotel for an amazing break. Each room is individual (we stopped in two and they were both great) the hotel is festooned with antiques and quirky items which all add to the experience. The staff are lovely and the restaurant serves wonderful and well priced food. Go on, spoil yourself for a little while.

Room Tip: Room 11 has brilliant views across the Bristol Channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

6 of us stayed for the weekend in very nice surroundings, with helpful, friendly & polite staff, excellent food and excellent wine.

The staff were also very knowledgeable about local walks etc. and happy to explain the routes etc.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just come back from a fabulous weekend at the Anchor celebrating our Golden Wedding with family and friends. The staff were amazing, the food great, and nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure our celebration was truly memorable. Everyone loved the quirky surroundings and the welcoming and comfortable atmosphere. We hope to be there for our Diamond Wedding !

Room Tip: Room 1a overlooking the harbour with a huge real four poster bed was extremely comfortable and relax...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Poges, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spotted this lovely hotel when we were staying nearby in August and came back for two nights during October half term. Loved the unusual interior crammed full of interesting antiques and collectables and so many books. Our room had a wonderful sea view and the hotel was perfect for a get away from it all break exploring the area on foot or by car. We had good weather but I wouldn't have minded being stuck at the hotel if the weather had been terrible because we felt so welcome and at home here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed for a few days mid week as we love Porlock Weir and the surrounding area. The rooms, service and meals were all very good - but what makes this hotel stand out is the weird and wonderful items on display and extensively stocked library that can help pass away the late hours. ... And don't forget the cinema room that show films a couple of nights a week. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

stayed for three nights,arrived Tuesday 5th November was welcomed by victor who checked us in and showed us our room and all the facilities around hotel.such a beautiful, relaxing and intriguing place, the more you look the more interesting it becomes we had a harbour view room which was beautiful especially the view out over the harbour. we dined in porlock village on the Tuesday night as the restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesday. we dined in the restaurant on our last night and was blown away,well worth it. breakfast was superb freshly cooked each morning. in all we found it such a relaxing place to stay beautiful views lovely walks and places to visit localy.Tanya and her team are a credit to the hotel, and made our stay great cant wait to go back in the new year so sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA248PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millers At The Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.