We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow , amazing food! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Oak Inn
Exmoor National Park, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
+44 (0)1643 831506/7
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Withypool
Price range: $81 - $82
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wow , amazing food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was amazing. Really friendly, warm, great menu. The food was wow, looking fab and was so good. We had a really great night and would go back again. Everything was so well presented and huge amounts . The best pub around by far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's not easy to find such a cosy and welcoming local which serves great food anymore, however, the Royal Oak is certainly one such pub. In the heart of Withypool we were lucky enough to come here with friends for supper. An extensive menu makes choosing very difficult but of all the dishes we ordered, no one was disappointed! (We were also rather jealous of everyone else's food coming out!)
If we didn't live in a different county we would be here every evening!! How lucky Withypool is!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenominal food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A hidden gem, we were expecting standard pub quality and were amazed and delighted to find incredible delicate flavours from solid ingredients and generous portions. Remember to book though, it's so small that you won't get a table if you don't!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magnificent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in August and was absolutely bowled over by the quality of the food and the menu. Everything was cooked to perfection the service was great and the general atmosphere was very welcoming.
We had plans to eat at different places that we'd earmarked before going to the area but instead had all our meals at the Royal Oak! Wonderful restaurant and would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Reasonable place for a pub lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have to agree with a recent comment about the pub toilets. They really do need upgrading. As for the food, it was fine for a pub lunch but nothing to really rave about. There had been a good review in the telegraph not so long ago, which was very positive. This may refer more to staying at the Royal Oak. The food I believe to be fairly standard and average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Withypool, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.