We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise In The Wilderness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
The Royal Oak Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exmouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Surprise In The Wilderness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Royal Oak at Withypool was recommended to us by a friend so we were a little taken aback when we drove into the inn car park. It looked a little run down and in need of some decorative attention. We were booked in to stay for three nights so we entered our room with some trepidation. The room was not as large as we might have expected and was a bit on the creaky side. The bathroom was a decent size with a large victorian style roll edge bath and shower overhead. My wife and I decided we would make the most of our break so we were determined not to be negative about things - we did not have to worry.

The bed was so comfortable and the room so quiet (after closing time) we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The food was very good and the staff were all local and very friendly.

The location is superb - miles from anywhere and no mobile phone coverage - absolute bliss.

If you are put off by old buildings and need your up-to-date amenities this place is not for you. But if you want a unique and genuine English inn this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for information on the rooms when booking - our room did not have a chest-of-drawers and was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend break at this hidden gem right in the heart of Exmoor National Park. Rooms are outstanding and full of lovely little touches like bathrobes, toiletries, refreshments and even paracetamol. Was spoilt for choice for breakfeast, usual toast and cereal was offered but then had choice of full english, smoked salmon and scambled eggs, poached haddock, kippers or cinnamon porridge. Evening meals are also of an exceptional high quality. Jeanette is an excellent hostess and could not do more for you, eventhough I was on a special diet she made every effort to make sure my needs were met. We went on our motorbike and the surrounding roads are a bikers dream, Purlock Hill is a must !!! Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We had room number 6 that has a roll top bath and a spiral staircase to outside which is handy if li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were out for a drive and ended up in Withypool. We dropped in for a beer and were so impressed with the menu we decided to stop for food. It was well worth it. Large portions and great quality produce at decent prices. A good mix of traditional and creative kept both myself and hubby happy. Staff were friendly and efficient and service smooth.
I would have preferred a better selection of ales. My hubby was driving, otherwise he would have complained about the cider choice.
We are thinking about Booking in here next time we come down, the accommodation looked so nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's hard to beat this Exmoor gem when it comes to Sunday Roast! Fantastic tasting meat, all the trimmings and as much veg as you can eat cooked to perfection. All the staff are very friendly and make you very welcome. Well worth a stop if you are in the area on holiday. Luckily we only live half an hour away so we can go regularly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

excellent food,clean tidy rooms very helpful staff, a very warm welcome on arrival.you can eat in the restaurant or bar area we chose the bar it has a wonderfull oldy world feel about it.if i was being very fussy i would say the rooms could do with updating but my wife insisted it all added to the charm of the place. loads to see & do all around you. the tarr steps and river walk is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Accommodation for day 2 of our two moors way walking holiday. Great welcome and food. Room was slightly small with an external bathroom that was spacious and had a deep bath that helped soak away the pains of the days walking. The hotel suffered from noisey guests on the evening we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at this lovely old pub in exmoor for three nights. Made my husband and myself very welcome and our little dog even more welcome, on arrival we was shown to a very clean, nice smelling and well equipped room, there was even a towel and blanket for our dog and a bowl with welcome biscuits.Breakfast was excellent. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. (Unlike some pubs/hotels that insult you with shabby rooms because you have a dog, the Royal Oak spoils you with genuine 4*accommodation) Totally recommend a real treat. Well done to all at the Royal Oak Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.