We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Withypool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Farm
Save
You added King's Farm to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7RE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Five star accommodation in every way: pristine, comfortable rooms with all you need and delightful extras ( eg. port and chocolates) . The hosts are warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfasts were consistently excellent, as were the home-made biscuits, and there are good places to dine nearby. It was lovely to go "home" at the end of the day to a blazing log fire. At the end of a long drive the house is a peaceful haven in immaculate gardens, a perfect escape from the world and probably the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Try it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings_Farm, Owner at King's Farm, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you, we're delighted you enjoyed your experience and hope you have persuaded a few others to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

King's Farm was everything we always hope for from a hotel but hardly ever find. Not to mention that we couldn't believe our luck that we found it at b&b prices! We are unashamedly demanding in our expectations, and King's Farm exceeding all of them. Our room was wonderful, huge but cosy and incredibly comfortable. The ensuite bathroom is lovely, and the shower excellent. Penhaligon's toiletries complete the experience and enhance a feeeling of understated luxury.

There were homemade chocolates in the fridge to welcome us and we were treated to a truly superb breakfast (anything you could wish for is available, but I highly recommend Ruth's cooking!). To complete the foodie delights, the pub in the village provides excellent food, perfectly cooked - in context we compared it favourably with the 5 star hotels and michelin starred dining we had elsewhere on our trip!

Ultimately this is the perfect retreat, we'll certainly be going back, and telling all of our friends. If you're looking for a peaceful escape, don't book a hotel nearby, book the suite at King's Farm.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the suite - which is separate from the house and fabulous, but I'm sure all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings_Farm, Owner at King's Farm, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your generous review. We try to keep our prices very competetive and we're very pleased you appreciated this, as well as all the extras! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We couldn't fault Kings Farm- the perfect place for my surprise weekend away. We were welcomed with tea & home baked goodies and immediately made to feel at home. our hosts went to great lengths to make sure we had all we needed & were very helpful with walking suggestions.

The house is set in lovely grounds and has spacious, comfortable, very clean rooms. We also had a peek in the cottage/studio outside which would make for a great getaway location- very private and beautifully done.

It's a short walk from a pub (Red Oak) that does great food which is handy and offers wonderful walks straight from the door. We walked to Tarr steps- well worth doing the loop & great to be able to start & finish at the farm.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings_Farm, Owner at King's Farm, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We continually strive to give our guests an excellent stay, and cleanliness especially is very important. We look forward to welcoming you to Kings again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The best in Exmoor??? Well certainly looking through B&Bs on the internet, Kings Farm stood out from the rest; I can't comment on the others, but you'd be hard-pushed to improve on Kings Farm.
It was unlikely we'd get booked in though, as it was short notice. However, we were lucky and there had been a cancellation. I was delighted, as none of the others seemed quite so 'us'.
Sadly, the weather wasn't as we'd hoped and the only dry day was the day we left, but nobody can do anything about the great British weather!

We stayed in the annexe, which gave us more flexibility to come and go than if we'd stayed in the house. Given the weather conditions, this could have proven particularly useful, though as it was, we still managed to be out by day. The annexe has a large living area, with a very comfortable bed (and nice linen), a lovely modern en-suite bathroom, and what would appear to be a good-sized kitchen area (larger than some people's kitchens at home!) However, despite being equipped with a washing machine, cooker, microwave and dishwasher, all was not quite as it seemed. A notice on the wall asks that you do not carry out any washing (though the hosts will provide this service for you) and on the second night, having purchased items for a light supper, we discovered that the only crockery and cutlery was 3 x cups and saucers and 3 x teaspoons. We improvised, tearing bread, spreading butter with the back of a teaspoon, and cutting cheese with a combination of teaspoons and a pen-knife. It had never occurred to us to check the provision of basic kitchen items.
Generally speaking, the annexe suited us perfectly. We could be self-sufficient (to a degree), with our own living area so we didn't feel either in the way or on show.

- No wi-fi reception in the annexe (no mobile reception either, but that was quite nice!)
- A lack of cutlery and crockery in an otherwise well-equipped kitchen
- Noise from the garage below (garage doors and vehicles) at a VERY early hour (c. 6am)
- Breakfast only served until 9 - an acceptable time for most I imagine, but since this was our 'annual holiday', it did limit the lie-ins somewhat

+ Beautiful location, both in terms of geography, and the house and gardens themselves
+ Lovely views
+ Fab breakfasts, which set us up well for the whole day
+ Finished to a high spec and very clean (cleaned and tidied daily)
+ Friendly and helpful owners
+ Friendly dogs and horses to stroke!
+ Genearlly a superb service, with good attention to detail (e.g. chocolates and port)

Any negative comments do not in any way detract from the 5* rating given, and serve merely to give a well-rounded and honest review. None of the issues mentioned were raised with our hosts, though I'm sure had we mentioned them, they would have done their best to rectify them.

I'd definitely recommend this place and would visit again in a heart-beat.

Room Tip: Choose the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings_Farm, Owner at King's Farm, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw for Kings Farm. We are very pleased that you appreciated the standards of service and cleanliness and extra "little touches". Unfortunately the weather was less than perfect and this is something we cannot organise! However, I think you made best use of time. With regard to the annex not being furnished with kitchen utensils etc, it has never been let as a self catering unit, nor was it mentioned to you before your arrival that your accommation was equipped with a kitchen, but the fridge was available for keeping drinks (and chocolates) chilled.It is purely an extension of our B&B accommodation.
There is wi-fi reception in the accommodation, which should have worked perfectly, perhaps this could have been resolved if you had informed us. There is no mobile telephone coverage in Withypool.
Due to the nature of our work/ business/home life, we do naturally have early starts and it is quite possible you heard 1 vehicle leave the premises soon after 6am, but I hasten to add that the vehicle was not IN the garage i.e. under your accommodation, and we do try very hard not to disrupt the peace of our guests at any time.
Thank you again for all the "plus" points mentioned, and we regret you did not bring the other matters such as wifi to our attention during your stay giving us the opportunity to address them. We do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATFORD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Father & son stayed here on final leg of 2 Moors Way walk across Exmoor. We arrived exhausted but left refreshed. Kings Farm was so very welcoming and the quality of the accommodation superb. I can honestly say this is the best B&B I have ever stayed in and look forward to a return visit sometime soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings_Farm, Owner at King's Farm, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We thank you very much for your generous reveiw. With many visitors like yourselves, walking the 2 moors way, it is a pleasure to be able to provide top class accommodation and service to those who have really earned the rest!
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we had a lovely 2 nights at this wonderful farm with beautiful gardens
the bedrooms were absolutely luxurious, the food excellent and ruth made us so welcome with tea and homemade biscuits both days
a real gem in the heart of exmoor!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings_Farm, Owner at King's Farm, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Kind words from a Yorkshire lass who no doubt lives in a beautiful part of the countryside too! Thank you very much, we are delighted our little touches and extra effort are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Kings Farm. It was exactly what we had hoped for and found the location to be ideal for local walks, pub and the relaxing atmosphere. Ruth and Peter made us feel very welcome and were helpful in booking local pub and giving advice on walks. We stayed in the annexe which was a clean and modern apartment. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Kings Farm and will hopefully get the chance to return soon.
Kevin & Alison

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings_Farm, Owner at King's Farm, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yet again we are delighted to receive top marks and maintain high customer satisfaction. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Farm

Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Hotel Class:5 star — King's Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Farm is a luxury AA appointed 5 star bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of Exmoor national park. It has an enviable position, being situated alongside the beautiful river Barle, in Exmoors' most popular village, Withypool. The country house is found at the end of a tree-lined drive, surrounded by its own land, facing south across beautifully landscaped gardens. It is an idyllic secluded retreat offering peace and tranquillity. We, Ruth and Peter, have been providing bed and breakfast on Exmoor for over 9 years. It is a priviledge to be able to share our beautiful home and surrounding Exmoor countryside with our discerning guests, who in turn, can expect a high level of service and commitment from us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.