We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Wall Under Heywood | Wall Under Heywood, Church Stretton SY6 7DS, England
+44 1694 771833
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Plough Inn at Wall under Heywood is now under NEW OWNERSHIP.
Cemaes Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real treat !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Looking for a place for a meal between Anglesey and Cheltenham, I landed on the Plough after an internet search of the area south of Shrewsbury, and was not disappointed.
Lovely atmosphere on entering, large open fire in the snug, very friendly staff, superbly cooked food, and that final tester - a real mint chocolate with the coffee !
The king prawns melted in the mouth, the fish in batter and chips were outstanding, and the rum and raisin icecream to die for.
We were given every attention, in a most friendly way, and would recommend the Plough to anyone. It is easily found from Church Stretton lights, and well worth a visit.
Thank you to the Staff.for making the visit such a pleasure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and I were at a loose end , I didnt want to cook, so we opted to go out for sunday lunch..We live very near to the Plough Inn and after a quick read on Trip Advisor, decided to go to the plough.
We were not dissapointed. We phoned to make the reservation and I got a warm, friendly response on the phone and booked our table.
The pub itself is a very unasuming building...looks more like a lovely old farm house than a pub - very quaint and in keeping of where it is...in the country. The guy behind the bar
(Steven - I think) was friendly and took our drinks order, then showed us through to our table..The dining room is very unpretenious...and I loved it...a warm friendly atomosphere, a real log fire burning and everybody looking happy and relaxed.
There was a small wait for the starter, but Steven let us know the chef knew we were here, the staff kept you informed so you wernt left sitting there thinking they had forgotten about you. Nice touch.
The food was tasty' fresh' and nicely presented..We all had the butterfly prawns to start...mmmmmmmmm...yummy...with a sweet chili dipping sauce...Then we had roast beef and yorkshire pudding...The beef melted in your mouth the veg all fresh and in season and the yorkshires' were huge! My partner had a sweet of chocolate torte, a nice slice not too much and came with pouring cream. He said it was very sweet and very nice.
To conclude, We all loved our lunch at the Plough Inn and WILL be returning. The staff are friendly and very iffecient, but not over bearing. The food is good honest local grub, cooked well and presented lovely. Try it, you wont be dissapointed.
Thanks guys for great service and great food and what a bargain on the price...you would be hard pushed to get this level of food and service anywhere else ...Bonus!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous steak best in shropshire!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Me my boyfriend and our friend visited here one saturday evening all starving we opted for the rump steak which was served with vine tomatoes homemade onion rings and a salad garnish the steak was tender juicy and fantastic being a big steak fan i had to have a sauce to accompany it so i had shropshire stilton sauce not on the menu but chef andy was eager to accomodate and the sauce was delicious. Staff are all friendly and eager to please being under the new management has changed this pub around the pub is clean and warm food excellent and beer although pregnant myself my partner assures me its very good. All i can say is forget all the previous managements and hear say give the plough a go and you wont be dissapointed. Sundays are now also very busy will be back here again again the steak we had was one of the best in shropshire!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff are friendly and efficient.The food is far superior to you average pub grub. Some areas still need refurbishing but they are focussing on food first!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“quaint inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

lovely food quaint atmosphere warm fire helpful staff individual servuce enjoyed our visit took over the dining room i think

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.