We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longmynd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Longmynd Hotel to your Saves list
Longmynd Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cunnery Road, Church Stretton SY6 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went to the Long Mynd hotel in Church Stretton in Nov. I absolutely loved this place its tucked away in a hillside with fantastic views. Great comfy beds and a decent size bathroom it was warm as it was freezing cold outside when we arrived. We walked round the grounds to see the sculptures which are brilliant. It is a great location with loads of walks near by. The breakfast was a buffet breakfast and there was plenty to choose from with just about everything you would like for a hearty breakfast. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    75
    42
    17
    20
See reviews for
21
59
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A very pleasant hotel and delightful location in which to stay. All the staff were exceptionally helpful (even when we awoke to an unexpected fire alarm at 6.30 am - technical error, no fire). Delicious food, good menu choice including buffet breakfasts. Only disappointment was the small bathroom-anyone larger than average would have difficulty with the size of the shower. Interesting sculpture trail in the grounds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is situated at the top of a hill and has super views of the lovely surrounding countryside.
The bedroom was spacious and had an en suite bathroom with fluffy soft bath sheets.
The bed was comfy and the room warm with excellent lighting and more than enough room for clothes. The food was plentyfull and of excellent quality. Staff were very helpful and I enjoyed my 4 night stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath- I gather some rooms have small showers only
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having read some of the recent reviews of this hotel I wasn't expecting great things, but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the outside looks like it needs a bit of tlc and some of the interior is perhaps a bit dated, but the facilities were good. My room wasn't huge, but it was ample and had a nice comfy double bed, plenty of storage, good towels and pleasant toiletries. The refreshments tray was good and well replenished each day. The bathroom was small, but so am I, so not an issue! I was staying with a large group on an HF walking break and the food was consistently good, not one disappointing meal. Breakfast was excellent, they even had soya milk. Again, in my view breakfast was as good as, or even better, than in some 4 stars I've experienced. For my break, it was excellent value. Location is lovely - an easy stroll down to shops, and stunning views of hills from the dining room and bar. I understand a refurb. is immiment, so it will be interested to see the changes on a future visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very friendly, the food in the restaurant was of good standard but on the expensive side.Our room was clean, quiet and functional, if a bit dated, and for £50 per night (no breakfast) not too bad. The only down side was, despite beautiful views from many of the rooms, unfortunately our room had a view of the rubbish bins and the fire escape.

Room Tip: Do not pick room 41 at £50. For best views ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We’ve visited the Longmynd every year, but this time came away feeling disappointed! How things have changed, but not for the better! Staff were friendly as always, but looked stressed, overrun and in short number. On two occasions, we had to wait for nearly 10 minutes for someone to serve in the bar. Food was very disappointing. The ambience once enjoyed in the dinning room now completely lost. It was noisy, crowded like a works canteen! Lots of big loud groups dominating facilities at the expense of the ordinary traveller. How different it was under the personal supervision of Mr Chapman. Sadly, we will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays at Longmynd Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We continue to reflect on all customer comments. The dining room and all the public rooms at the Longmynd will be refurbished this winter which we hope will improve the ambience.

We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Research & Quality Manager, Sarah Davis, HF Holidays Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived at the hotel greated by friendly staff. The hotel was very warm and cosey. We were given room 4 on the 1st floor. Very nice petite modern shower room. Unfortunately this room turned out to be over the kitchen. The noise was horrendous! At 8.50pm we called down to reception and they quickly turned the fans off. Then we heard the pot cleaner started up! We called down again and Megan (a lovely girl) quickly moved us to room 51 on the 3rd floor. This room was cosey but a bath instead of a shower.The taps did have a shower attachment but very awkward no screen/curtain.
At the end of the day this is a very old hotel so considering this they have done a great job with the place.
Yes it is old but clean, warm and friendly staff.

Visit the Horseshoes @ Dorrington for a fab pub with great food.(On the Hereford Road)
For a cheap excellent lunchtime chinese try the Real China 11A Castle Street, Shrewsbury £5.95 for all you can eat inc a drink!

Room Tip: High up overlooking the hills at the fornt for fantastic views! There is a lift by the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longmynd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longmynd Hotel

Address: Cunnery Road, Church Stretton SY6 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Longmynd Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longmynd dates from the early 1900s and originally attracted Edwardian visitors to the 'Little Switzerland' of Church Stretton. With a magnificent hill-top location, there are panoramic views of the surrounding hills from the dining room and our lounges. Today the Longmynd has been extensively modernised to suit the needs of visitors. We offer spacious bedrooms, fabulous food and spacious lounges to relax in. Our extensive gardens and woodland walk are both relaxing places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Longmynd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longmynd Hotel Church Stretton, Shropshire
Hotel Longmynd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longmynd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.