We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Highlands Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Highlands Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
harrogate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A warm welcome on arrival. We had a beautiful room with stunning views overlooking the garden and the Long Mynd. A great place to relax after long walks around the wonderful countryside. It is a B & B will visit again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
108
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've stayed in Church Stretton three times in the past and have to say that Highlands Bed and Breakfast has the best views that I have ever seen of The Long Mynd from a Bed and Breakfast. There is a price to pay for these fantastic views which is a stiff walk or cycle up the hill on the opposite side of the A49 from Church Stretton. Not a problem for us because we came to this area to enjoy the fantastic mountain biking that the area has to offer. A stroll up the hill after our evening meal took less time than we expected and helped settle our digestion after indulging ourselves at the Bucks Head. Lynn and Alan went out of their way to look after us with an excellent breakfast to set us up for the day. They even allowed us to leave our car at their place after we had booked out with the chance to change out of our cycle clothing and the offer of a cuppa before heading back home. Highlands is well situated to explore the opposite of the valley from the Long Mynd with direct access onto Caere Caradoc and Lawley Hill. We look forward to staying with Lynn and Alan some time in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a 3 night stay and enjoyed two days of wonderful walking in the area. The B & B was ideally placed for walking and the amazing views from the rooms were an added bonus after a long walk. Alan and Lynn were excellent hosts and their attention to our needs was first class... nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was spacious and the facilities were clean and well maintained. Anyone wanting a few days 'away from it all' couldn't find a better place.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but we didn't have a balcony or access to a patio. This would have been the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

An excellent stay with warm and welcoming hosts Lynn and Alan - tea and biscuits on arrival and a lovely and extremely well-appointed room with glorious views over the Long Mynd. A hearty breakfast set us up for the many lovely walks in this wonderful area and we will definitely return to both Church Stretton and Highlands. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Highlands, but we should have stayed longer to have enjoyed Lynn and Alan's hospitality. Room was very clean and comfortable, meeting all needs. We had a lovely view over their beautiful garden and local hills; the french windows from the room gave on to the patio, with table and chairs - great for enjoying the tranquility. The 'full English' breakfast was excellent, and really sets you up for the day. Church Stretton worth a look around, too, and offerred some good places to eat. For the passing visitor or the holiday stayer, Lynn and Alan's Highlands Bed and Breakfast is very highly recommended.

Peter EL

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent three nights in the Balcony room at Highlands with our two teenage daughters. Alan & Lynn were friendly and welcoming, advising us on walks, places to eat and the local wildlife. The breakfasts were excellent, grilled rather than fried. The panoramic views from the bedroom window and balcony were stunning adding to the relaxing ambiance of the Guest House.

We hope to return to Highlands at a later date to do some further exploring of the area.

Room Tip: All the guest rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having just spent 2 nights at Highlands I can honestly say this was the most enjoyable stay ever in a B&B! First and foremost the hosts Lynn and Alan made the weekend for us... a lovely couple with a fantastic sense of humour which made our stay great fun! Their hospitality starts the moment you arrive with a friendly welcome and a cup of tea/coffee. We were 3 of us, me,hubby and Mum - so we stayed in the Balcony room which suited us perfectly, with Mum using the annexe, and the whole room is spacious, airy, comfortable, clean, and the views from the balcony.... absolutely superb. Beds very comfortable, plenty of tea/coffee etc, and a lovely touch is the small fridge (in every room) to keep the fresh milk (instead of those horrid uht pots!) Shower-room was a good size, with lovely big fluffy white towels. Breakfast great.. good selection of cereals, and fresh fruit segments/juice, and the cooked breakfast is delicious, using locally sourced products, and an ample size. Lovely dining room overlooking the gardens... which you are free to use too. Possible to walk into the village, though does mean walking uphill to get back! But less than 5 mins in the car. Alan happily recommends good local eating places too, and even made the bookings for us.! Perfectly placed for walks and drives on the Long Mynd and Stiperstones, this lovely house is in a superb position. We honestly can't wait to go back!! Thank you Lynn and Alan - keep doing what you're doing...it's faultless !! Fran, Ian and Sylvie ("the hotel inspector") !!

Room Tip: All the rooms on the back of the house - so all got the wonderful views. All spacious, clean and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highlands Bed And Breakfast Church Stretton, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.