We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Housmans Restaurant & Bar

Housmans Restaurant & Bar
27 High Street | Church Stretton, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
01694 724441
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were overnight stopping in Church Stretton on our way from North Wales to a family party on the South Coast. Housmans was buzzing when we walked past and looked inviting because of the great atmosphere. We hadn't booked and were initially told that the restaurant was full. However the Manger then came over and said that if we wanted to a large group had said we could sit at the end of their long table as there was space for two. We accepted immediately and it was an excellent decision. The food was delicious and we had a lovely evening chatting to the birthday group and there was live music later on too! We would definitely recommend booking and will be sure to stop in when we are in Church Stretton again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickygouldbourn, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Hi, it was my pleasure to accommodate you on that busy evening, we are all a friendly bunch and our regulars enjoy chatting to new people,
hope to see you soon , we are pleased you enjoyed our food and company
Regards Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    51
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went here three times during one week. A nice tapas place, with good beer on draft, live music once in a while - we managed to fit it in, excellent! - and very nice service. I really loved this place! Some people claim it's too expensive, I don't think so at all. I also like that it's open for both coffee, drinks and food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickygouldbourn, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
I remember you well thankyou for posting this great review
Nicola Gouldbourn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went on a Sunday evening when quieter. Staff very good at helpfully explaining the menu - nice to have a mixture of a mini-grazing dish and a grazing dish with side salad and share a pudding Wild Raspbery Creme Brulee - lovely taste but very small - a bonne bouche! - Chilean merlot very nice too!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickygouldbourn, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thankyou for your positive feedback
Hope to see you again
Nicola Gouldbourn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks in a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

It speaks very well of Housmans that they have set their main bar right in the centre of this long, attractive building - this creates a very lively atmosphere (in a good way) and means that although the place is, at heart, a restaurant it welcomes guests who just want a drink without making them feel marginalised (and there are still plenty of quieter corners for those who want a more romantic or peaceful ambience). The menu here is equally creative, centered around a clever range of sharing dishes but with other options to suit pretty much any palate... we sampled 6 dishes and we found everything that we ordered to be well-cooked and very tasty. Housman's was recommended to us by our host at a nearby bed and breakfast... who proved how much they like it by being in there for a drink on the same night - it is a really nice place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickygouldbourn, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thankyou for your great review , we are glad you enjoyed your experience
Regards Nicky Gouldbourn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We visited with our 7 and 9 year old children. We ordered drinks whilst choosing our food. The waitress put the drinks on the table behind one of the children who did not see it and accidentally knocked if over me, the table and the floor. The waitress got cloths and wiped the floor vigorously, but not offer any help to us or ask if we were ok, we had to ask for napkins (there were none on the table) to wipe ourselves and the table, the drink was not replenished (as would be the case in most restaurants) and we were made to feel as if we had done something wrong. Although the food turned out to be very tasty and the portions large, our evening was ruined by the attitude of the initial waitress. We would definitely not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickygouldbourn, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the good food
I am trying to find out re person who served you
Accidents happen all the time and it is no problem if a drink accidentally gets knocked over.children are welcome all the time
We pride ourself on good service as you can see in previous comments ,
The only thing I can think of that the person serving you didn't realise it had split on you although they quickly resolved the problem by wiping it up. The intension is never to make you feel uncomfortable .
Please don't hesitate to contact me as we try x resolve problems like this immediately
Regards Nicola GOULDBOURN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Housmans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to Housmans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Housmans Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.