We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtle Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Save
You added Myrtle Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Low Road | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2BS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The best hotel we stayed in on our tour of the west coast of Scotland, a gem of a hotel. The rooms were excellent and spotlessly clean; staff were all friendly and efficient; the food was excellent, no need to eat out! Views were super and there's plenty to do in the local vicinity (can recommend the glass bottom boat trip).

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    52
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
100
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Could not fault this place - lovely room, huge! and so comfy. Fantastic bath/bathroom etc. View over to Skye was extraordinary as you would expect. Staff really went out of their ways to look after us- we arrived 10 mins after food service should have finished in the bar but they offered us a table and didn't even rush us to order. The food, again was better than anticipated - my husband's fillet steak for example was one of the best we've had but without being one of the most expensive... really impressed all round and cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Room 11 - amazing view, huge room, fantastic bath/bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed one night en route. £115 for 2 B&B for twin room with sea view.
Great location, overlooking water, great views. Room clean, not a bad size, decent bathroom, big easy chair in the room, TV pretty good & tea/coffee available. One particular mention is the beds.......fantastic, great mattress, not your usual mediocre bed, this was an absolute winner. If your travelling around its great to get a decent sleep.
Breakfast was very good, lots of variety & plentiful, no complaints there. We didn't try dinner at the hotel so can't comment.
Any staff we met were vey pleasant.
The only thing I would say that's a minor negative is that the communal areas could do with a lick of paint, they are a bit tired looking, chipped paint etc but appear clean. The conservatory entrance area is a lovely place to sit but there has obviously been a problem with water getting in at the roof & staining the wood.
Anyway, in one word it was "nice" so my star rating is between 3&4, I wouldn't say average nor would I say very good, I would say "good"
I would return here if simply to sleep in the bed again !

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. Make sure you get one with the really good mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice friendly hotel. Comfy with very helpful staff. Clean and very good food. I will return. I was able to arrive late and online booking was easy as long as not requiring a single room. Views from front very good and all public areas nice and clean.

Room Tip: Sea view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked two nights and spent them very comfortably in Room 15 which was spacious,very nicely decorated and comfortable.The view from our window was amazing with the thoughtful provision of binoculars to better follow the comings and goings on the loch. We just opened our window , (you don't need to close the curtains) and fell asleep to the sound of the waves on the shore, about 25 yards away depending on the tide. Hugely relaxing.
Breakfasts were varied with nothing being too much trouble for the knowledgeable and attentive staff. We chose to have dinner in the hotel both nights and were not disappointed. A good menu with lots of choice, fairly reasonably priced with a good deal on a bottle of wine! Pretty much perfect.
We hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Book ahead as the best rooms to the front will sell out quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were traveling down the west coast on our motor bikes and due to poor weather, we made an unscheduled stop at Gairloch. Despite not having a booking, we were offered the luxury suite, room 10, which was lovely and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was great however despite having a lovely deep bath there was no shower which was both impractical and disappointing.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was good, although a little over priced. We were served by a very friendly young waiter who gave us information on the local area which was both interesting and helpful.
The view from the hotel is spectacular, especially on a stormy night.
Overall, great hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Checking in was an easy uncomplicated process with a decent welcome, once checked in, I found the room to be clean and of a good size. Unfortunately due to the late booking, the room was rear facing. There was no welcome pack/folder in the room, which I found particularly unusual, the normal bit's and bobs regarding the establishment and surrounding are, which I realise with hindsight a particularly important part of what we expect when arriving in a room. This was mentioned on checkout and the lady at reception stated there should have been one and that she would look into it.

Having settled in we went for dinner which I must give 10 out of 10, very nice to the point that the wife said it's the best steak she has ever had. After dinner we went a walk around the area, the views are terrific.

Having returned to the room, it had a background noise that wasn't there earlier, it turns out we were directly above the bar, the noise was pretty loud to the point you could hear it over the TV, which I must mention was a good size. This went on to around 1 am, the answer I suppose is, if you can't beat them join them and hit the bar. Seriously it is something to consider if you have an early start and need a good night sleep.

The views from the the breakfast and dinner lounges are amazing, and like the dinner the previous night the breakfast was top notch also.

Room Tip: Try for sea view, ask for a room away from the bar below as it can have a lot of background noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtle Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Hotel

Address: Low Road | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome to the Myrtle Bank Hotel. We are located in the heart of the Highlands on the shores of Gairloch, an ideal base from which to explore the unspoilt beauty of Wester Ross, famous for it's spectacular sunsets, rugged scenery and it's golden sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtle Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.