We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun and very kid friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises

Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises
Gairloch Harbour, Gairloch, Scotland
01445 781729
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Fun and very kid friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely trip out with sealife glass bottm boat. We took our 3 kids 4 and younger and all enjoyed the informative and entertaining potter round the local islands taking in birds, seals and varied sealife! Entertained by the knowedgeable skipper who was kind enough to let my 4 year old drive the boat home! Certainly made his day! Highly recomended!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    16
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a very well organised and informative trip. The Skipper obviously knows his stuff and made the whole trip very interesting. I'm particularly keen on bird watching and was pleased to see and hear about the various birds in the area. (Many at close quarters). We had plenty of opportunity to take photographs. The only disappointment was there were no mammals to see. I believe the dolphins were waiting for the mackerel to arrive once the weather warms up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Informative and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very friendly couple, give you lots of information and clearly love what they do. Richard is very knowledgeable, with a low-key sense of humour and tells you all about the ecosystem of the area. Very helpful - if its cold and wet, they give you waterproofs, if you've got a dog, she will keep an eye out for it in your car. Even a cup of coffee or hot choc afterwards. Just a note - this is not a long distance whale watching trip, its more a pootle around the local area. If that's what you want, go elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had trouble picking what boat to go in because there are so many choices in Gairloch but Sealife was definitely a great choice. We were very lucky with the day we chose because we saw more than 20 dolphins right up by the boat. Without the dolphins though it would still have been an absolutely wonderful trip. A whole new way to look at the underwater world. The boat skipper was really nice and let us steer the boat and told us a lot about what we could see. There was just a lovely atmosphere on the boat and even before we got on they made us very welcome. We had creepy crawly checklists and we saw every animal on it and more! I really recommend this trip especially good for families. Esther aged 12.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Trip and Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a great trip on the glass bottom boat ! The fantastic booking office is in a great position on the harbor, past the shop and the cafe overlooking the boats !! If you are looking for sealife, then remember to go past the other boat office as you first pull on to the pier and find them further along. The booking office is a fantastic little place and Jill is most friendly and the children were so fascinated by the information that is available. Booking in on the boat was easily done and hot drinks were available to us also, this was especially great when we came back in off the sea ! I had a nice hot drink whilst the kids went through their activity sheets and explained all they had seen. Being on the Boat its self was a fantastic experience there was so much for us to see, Richard the Skipper has excellent knowledge of wildlife both under the water and above and is very good at talking to children and keeping them interested, he also has a great sense of humor ! We were provided with life jackets, coats if we got cold, binoculars and on board is books and information sheets on the wildlife you are spotting !! .. my children both had a go at steering the boat which they thought was just amazing, at aged 15 and 11 they were both very happy and enjoyed all the time they were at sea. I think that this is an excellent trip for families with children of all ages and very good value for money, it is something I would recommend to people and would defiantly do again !! keep you the great work guys hope to see you again sometime !!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises also viewed

 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.