We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky , interesting and much more than a coffee shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Coffee company

Mountain Coffee company
Strath Gairloch IV21 2BX, Gairloch, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Gairloch
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This cafe is recommended by Lonely Planet and could be fantastic. The view is good, The food looked good and some tasted good. I ma prompted ot review becase the service was very bad. The women in charge who I believe is the owner was one fo the grumpier people we met on a 5month tour of Europe. She was loudly critical of and to the young man working there, she was unwelcoming and ignored much of what we said to her. The coffee was ok but made with reluctance and an offhand attitude. We felt as if we were intruding in her space and a real nuisance -- at 11 am !!. We had driven out of the way to get to a place which we felt would be special place for a coffee. It was but in all the wrong ways. We are New Zealanders who do not normally complain but this place was worth complaining about.
Edinburgh,UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quirky , interesting and much more than a coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Excellent coffee and carrot cake, shop filled with fascinating books, unusual; cards and gifts. Great to sit OUTSIDE on an October morning , watching the world go by.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    72
    27
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rosyth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quirky café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you like good coffee and home baking this place is worth a visit if you find yourself in the area.
I’ve been a few times after first trying the café about three years ago.
To be fair, I’ve only ever had coffee and cake/snacks and not tried a cooked meal, so I cannot comment on some of the negative reviews found here.
As for the remarks about the “miserable woman who haunts the place” well they are pretty accurate!
Every time I have visited there has been one or more youngsters smiling and making the customers welcome to the best of their ability, while she scowls and grumbles at them from the shadows.
This was the same today 26/12/13 when we dropped in. There was an anti fox-hunting event on and there was a lovely smiley young lass serving with her face painted.
I think this is the best set up for them as the “termagant” makes great coffee but is better kept away from the customers.
Give it a try for yourself. But if your easily offended send someone else up to the counter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A taste of the Rockies in Wester Ross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely staff, comfy and cosy during our November visit and delicious scones and cakes. Thanks to Sasha for being so welcoming. Attached bookstore, Hillbillies, also great - picked up a couple of good reads!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Sunday coffee and cake...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I visited this little cafe years ago and remember they had the best scones. However Sunday they seem to be limited with choices. We all had the chocolate cake and lattes, the lattes were reasonably priced but the cake though lovely was far too expensive we paid over £16 for 2 coffees and 3 cakes! The general state of the cafe is run down and the toilet is a hazard it should be out of order! Lovely book shop attached though definitely worth a look in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

In passing Gairloch we Always get lost. Yes it is possible. Ending up in the harbour or at the golf club. But once we get to the MCC we plan for a short pitstop of 15 minutes. Never spent less than 1 hour. Great coffee (could even be Dutch) and suuuuuuuuuuperb scones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Coffee company also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Mountain Coffee company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Coffee company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.