We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local produce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Na Mara Restaurant - CLOSED

Na Mara Restaurant
Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BZ, Scotland
01445 712397
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: fresh seafood restaurant opened 2010/11 amazing owned by young couple who use fresh locally sourced produce. Wonderful flavours
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good local produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellently prepared local produce. Friendly service. Sightly disappointing sitting upstairs - but we booked late and the lighter room downstairs with views was fully booked.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annetarctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very nice place to visit. Looks a bit like a café setting, but the food is fine dining. If you want really good value for money, try the Fisherman's Tea, very filling and very fresh. Would recommend that you book your table before hand(any night of the week) it's that popular.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips for ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

They call it 'fisherman's tea': haddock, chips and so on. It's only available till 6:45 and nicely, presented, piping hot, perfectly cooked and it's brilliant value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank imaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My dinner here was great. It is very small and reservations seem a must, at least the night I was there. There was a sign up stating that they were fully booked for the evening. My seafood dinner was fantastic and the dessert was just as good. As I said it is very small and the inside is very simple but the food is a star.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Another excellent meal at Na Mara. Delicious fresh food - this time I had the langoustines, hot smoked salmon and mussels with pasta and my husband had venison casserole and the meat was so tender and both meals large. We shared ice cream afterwards and it was the best ice cream I've ever tasted - 3 scoops - vanilla, passion fruit and Malteser. Make sure you book because this restaurant is always busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaybee210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Mara Restaurant also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing