We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Na Mara Restaurant - CLOSED

Na Mara Restaurant
Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BZ, Scotland
01445 712397
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: fresh seafood restaurant opened 2010/11 amazing owned by young couple who use fresh locally sourced produce. Wonderful flavours
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very nice place to visit. Looks a bit like a café setting, but the food is fine dining. If you want really good value for money, try the Fisherman's Tea, very filling and very fresh. Would recommend that you book your table before hand(any night of the week) it's that popular.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    169
    43
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips for ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

They call it 'fisherman's tea': haddock, chips and so on. It's only available till 6:45 and nicely, presented, piping hot, perfectly cooked and it's brilliant value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My dinner here was great. It is very small and reservations seem a must, at least the night I was there. There was a sign up stating that they were fully booked for the evening. My seafood dinner was fantastic and the dessert was just as good. As I said it is very small and the inside is very simple but the food is a star.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Another excellent meal at Na Mara. Delicious fresh food - this time I had the langoustines, hot smoked salmon and mussels with pasta and my husband had venison casserole and the meat was so tender and both meals large. We shared ice cream afterwards and it was the best ice cream I've ever tasted - 3 scoops - vanilla, passion fruit and Malteser. Make sure you book because this restaurant is always busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“lovely fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had been recommended to go to this little restaurant in Gairlochjand were not disappointed. Lovely fresh, mostly local produce , freshly cooked. Great fish and chips!! Very handy for the Campsite next door and across the road from quirky bookshop. Staff friendly and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Mara Restaurant also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Badachro, Gairloch
 
Poolewe, Ross and Cromarty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Na Mara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.