We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite restaurant in Gairloch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shieling Restaurant

The Shieling Restaurant
2 Auchtercairn, Gairloch IV21 2BH, Scotland
01445712888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pleasant bar and restaurant serving breakfast , lunch and dinner . Lovely views over to the Isle of Skye. Average prices . Snack menu .Childrens menu.Coffee lounge. Outside seating for 30 people. Free wifi for customers.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Gairloch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We visited this lovely restaurant for breakfast on most mornings during our two week holiday in Gairloch, and again in a few evenings with our elderly parents. We were blessed with nice weather too so it was a real luxury to sit in the sunshine overlooking Gairloch bay eating our breakfast. The food is exceptional. Freshly cooked and plenty of it. And the fact that it is wheelchair friendly makes it one of the few local restaurants we can actually get Dad into.
High recommend this lovely cosy restaurant. .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    61
    6
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent port of call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Whether you call in for coffee and scones, a pint or a dram, or for a meal, you are in for a treat. Always on my itinerary when I am in the area.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent food at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Made a good change from dull hotel food, good serving, good service and clean. also does sandwiches if you don't fancy a big meal.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Home cooked and lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Really impressed by the food here.

It's all freshly prepared food. Simple and well cooked it was difficult not to like the place. I had the fish pie of the specials. It was packed with salmon, haddock, prawns, cod, and peas.

The view out onto the bay makes it a lovely place to take guests to. It was not warm enough to sit outside but they have outside tables which they presumably serve food at.

There is a very nice lounge area with lots of soft couches to relax on.

Service was ok but nothing special.

Value was OK but maybe a little high for some of the choices on the menu although the steaks were cheaper than I'd expect. Main courses were 10-20 pounds.

I would definitely recommend here for a meal and I'll be back for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Visit here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fantastic food one evening, Huge portions of yummy food with great choice for our 7 year old. Friendly service and quite quick. Nice atmosphere and seating outside for daytime.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shieling Restaurant also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Shieling Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shieling Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.