We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtle Bank Hotel

Myrtle Bank Hotel
Low Road, Gairloch IV21 2BS, Scotland
01445 712004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 restaurants in Gairloch
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fresh local seafood and traditional Scottish fayre, all cooked and prepared by our talented local chef.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very professional establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

We were non-residents taking dinner on the recommendation of our landlady in Poolewe, and felt we had been welcomed into a very professional establishment. The menu was extensive, the food well prepared and served, and the view out over the bay just awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    39
    39
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

I was with a very large party of friends probably over 100. The food and service was excellent. Soup was particularly good. The staff were immaculately turned out, very courteous and professional. The owner was was also there and mixed with all the guests which was very good.

I would have no hesitations in recommending this establishment to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stopped into the bar for a couple of drinks.

Great staff, very friendly and helpfull (Jo is a star)

Bar is a bit dark being at the back of the building but lounge has great views out the front.

Drinks all reasonably priced

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food. Great location. Friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited the restaurant at Myrtle Bank whilst staying at Rua Reidh Lighthouse and had an excellent meal.
The setting is absolutely stunning, certainly helped by the fact that it was a beautiful evening!
There were 6 of us and all our meals were fantastic, my dad's trio of fish certainly surprised all of us, I don't think he'd ever seen so much food on one plate! Delicious home made chips too, SO much nicer than the frozen rubbish so many places seem to serve these days!
The staff were all friendly and helpful and even offered half-size portions of desserts so that, even in our stuffed states we didn't have to go without!!
All in all, definitely worth a visit!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good seafood and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great view out the front windows.
Haddock and shellfish were perfectly done.
Good beer selection. So-so wine selection.
Staff really tried to please (brought trio of local beers to try at no charge without a request)
2 blocks off the main road, but well marked.
On the water!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myrtle Bank Hotel also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Myrtle Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtle Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.