We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Wedding Anniversary Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
The White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Silver Wedding Anniversary Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped for one night for our anniversary in the Honey suite,could'nt fault the room. We were given a complimentary bottle of champagne, had a great meal in the evening[steak superb] and a very nice breakfast. Already recomended the White Hart to friends.Love the big freestanding bath.

Room Tip: Suites in courtyard quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    84
    36
    19
    4
See reviews for
21
152
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south wales, uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wonderful village, wonderful food and service unbeatable from all staff. Restaurant area and outdoor area absolutely lovely.

Room tried to be modern with a twist of rustic, however, didn't quite work. Large old wardrobe stuffed into corner of the room left little room, the big dip in the floor at the bottom of the bed and the one in front of the loo made us fall over a fair bit. Room also very hot, this is ok tho as long as you open the roof window and the roadside window as they move the cooler air thro the room.

Shower was a real issue, as soon as I put it on, the water ran upto the rim and straight over. Floor was soaked. The nature of the flat-floored shower also meant that before I'd even got into it, the spray had wet my dry clothes that were on top of the loo seat.

Would stay again as good overall, but would maybe choose the rooms that are annexed off the main building as they looked gorgeous. Friends had an issue where they booked for the wedding a few months ago and were told day before stay there'd been an error and they had no room for them. A bit of fuss but this was sorted in time for the wedding thankfully.

Room Tip: As already mentioned, try and get into the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just wanted a one night stay on route and found the room very relaxing with a good bed, large screen wall TV, freestanding bath and roomy drop head shower. Some road noise but it didn't bother us at all. Enjoyed our dinner in the pub restaurant and a relaxing breakfast too with the weekend papers to read.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I recently stayed with my husband and another couple at the White Hart. We were originally looking for somewhere in Henley-on-Thames, but the only Hotels available there were around twice the price of this lovely pub with rooms in Nettlebed. The pub is very nice, looks fairly recently 'done up'. A cosy place to have a meal or pre-dinner drinks as we did. Our room was located in an old building adjoining the pub. The room was stunning. Again, recently decorated by the looks of it. A huge bed, flat screen TV, lovely victorian features and decor, a massive very comfy bed and best of all a roll top bath in the bedroom! Our friends were a little miffed that they didnt have one!! .... and we paid the same rate. Nice little bathroom with excellent shower. The shower tray is a little shallow so water runs all over the floor during showering, but not a massive problem. My only quibble with the room is that it is at the front of the property which is on a fairly busy main road. I was kept awake most of the night by lorries thundering by! Take some earplugs for a sound night's sleep. Breakfast was fine. Cereals and yogarts to help yourselves to, eggs cooked to order and the other bits of a full english available for you to help yourself too. Friendly staff. Would definately stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms would provide a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the white hart. Could not fault the staff for their proffesionalism and swift solution after a mix up with our booking. Room was exceptional- immaculately clean and well maintained. Staff went out of their way to be helpful throughout our stay. Meals were amazing, especially the steaks! whatever the secret glaze is- it is simply sublime, never tasted anything so delicious and the steaks so tender. The white hart provides a welcome and relaxed stay in a beautiful setting, peaceful and well run. The food menu and wine list offer the guest a wide choice and portions are indeed hearty. Perfectly located for a day in Henley or, a little further- London. Would certainly reccomend and return to this fantastic pub.

Room Tip: the superior rooms are seperated from the main bar and restaurant and give the guest their own "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visit the Reading Area frequently due to family and personal connections. We have
stayed in numerous hotels and are seasoned visitors. We visited the White Hart at Nettlebed
early August 2012 as a couple 50's (lower end off !) for an one nights stay.

We could not recommend a stay more highly. We stayed in a delightfull double room
in an annex at the rear which is well presented, spotless and quiet. Our breakfast was
exactly right served with an INTELLIGENT caring smile. We paid £65 total inc. full
English breakfast.

The immediate area around is ideal for an evening stroll - visit the church and the 'arts and crafts' village hall, say hello to the Flemmings in the graveyard - (as in 007 fame family)
Henley on Thames is 7 mins in car, London 3/4 hour I guess.

All round 5 stars - we will skip the others we used to stay at in future

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel and bar area look very attractive and we had a pleasant evening meal there. However our room - Blackcurrant, was one of the most unpleasant rooms I have ever stayed in. Cramped, dusty and featureless. The sloping sides to the room meant we were constantly bumping our heads. There was no chair although to be fair the room was too small to fit one in. We were attending a wedding and the only way I could dry my hair was to kneel on the floor outside the bathroom door in the darkest bit of an already dark room. Stains on the throw on the bed and windows which did not lock. They probably think the bathroom should add a wow factor to the dismal bedroom by incorporating a large freestanding bath. But there's only a small shower attachment with nowhere to store shampoo etc. Radiator didn't work and the room was cold. Sink was 'slimy' and the toilet was disgraceful! The toilet brush must be a health hazard. Cigarette ends on the stairs leading up to the room. The quality of food at breakfast was good but organisation was haphazard. No jams or condiments offered on first day and the platter of fresh fruit looked like leftovers. Cereal on offer was an open bowl of cornflakes. We booked well in advance and so paid the full price for our very basic double room - not worth it. I would have preferred a Travelodge where at least the room would have been clean and functional. Most of the satisfied reviews seem to indicate that they had booked late and paid considerably less than we did for a bigger room. Something wrong here. None of the official photos show a room similar to ours and it's easy to see why. It wouldn't take much to sort - retrain the housekeeper and cleaning staff, employ a maintenance person and get rid of the MDF appearance of these rooms. A picture would be nice!

Room Tip: If booking a double room ask if it's in the roof space and avoid if over 5ft tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Nettlebed, Oxfordshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.