We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the village, comfortable rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saddle Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Saddle Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
25, Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location in the village, comfortable rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed at the Saddle over the Jubilee weekend. I went as part of two couples and we had rooms next to each other on the first floor. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our rooms. As we had been before we didn't need any info on the local area but they were willing to give this if needed. Situated in a small village there a four pubs on the same road that all serve food, we particularly enjoyed the food at the red lion just a stone throw from the saddle. Walking from the Saddle you can get to the beach or the estuary in a couple of mins walk. We had bought a book of Almouth walks and did the village walk that afternoon and the evening in the local pubs. Breakfast the next morning at the Saddle was very good with a selection of fruit, cereal and yogurt followed by a choice of porridge, full English, kippers, scrambled egg&smoked salmon or any combination of the full English - I asked for bacon and poached eggs and they were very nice, also good coffee and toast. We spent the rest of the weekend going to Alnwick and Ealing to Walkworth along the beach which was great. The Saddle is in a great location and is a comfortable B&B, we all enjoyed it and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    55
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I had a couple of nights in this B&B as a short break from our hectic lifestyle. We found the owners friendly and welcoming. The room (number 3) was what we expected considering what we paid. It was very clean, cheerful and comfortable. The breakfast was average, plenty of it and good quality but we weren't asked if we wanted fried bread, the tomato was very hard, (wasn't cooked at all) and the mushrooms were an unusual colour. All-in-all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawcrook
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

we stayed 2 nights at the Saddle, it was fantastic. we took our dog and stayed in a 3 bedded room no 6. the staff are very friendly and the breakfasts outstanding. It is the second time that we have stayed and we would recommend The Saddle to every one. we have returned home today feeling totally relax

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We found this place last minute as we wanted somewhere cheap and loved Alnmouth. Yes, it's a bit dated like other reviews have mentioned but it was a large room (no 3), it was clean and comfortable. It's in such a lovely location it doesn't matter if your room has a blue bathroom suite and it's much cheaper than other places in Alnmouth.
Breakfast was plentiful and the owners were friendly and helpful. There's free parking too, a rare thing in Alnmouth. I would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

As pet owners we are usually limited with accomodation that will allow our dog and this was one of the places in Almouth where pets were 'very welcome'.
We arrived late Friday (we had forewarned them) and check in was swift. We found the car park with no issues and there seemed to be plenty of space even if the place was full.

The communal areas were all clean and no hint of 'eau de pet' as some might expect.

We stayed in room 2- the one with the blue bathroom suite on the front road- we have no issue in the colour of the bathroom- it was clean and fully functional so met the requirements.

The room was well furnished and roomy, clean and no road noise.
We could also control our own heating and this is a welcome suprise! Spare bedding in the wardrobe also.
The bed was 2 singles originally and we felt this during the night however they were comfy.
There was noise from the church clock opposite every 15 mins/half hour and on the hour. We couldn't hear this above the tv but could during the night. Also, when other guests flushed the toilet we could hear the waterpipes during the night.

The breakfast room had allocated tables which I suppose helped with the service- the lady who served us (of advanced years)- was very warm and polite.
Breakfast on both mornings was of a good quality and cooked to order-a very personal service and quite a selection to choose from. Usual array of cereals/juice/jams/ etc were also on offer.
Breakfast room was bright, clean and contained an eclectic mix of ornaments and local paintings.
We were also able to leave our dog in the room while we ate (or no-one told us otherwise!).

This is a lovely friendly b&b, nothing pretentious, just what it makes out to be which is refreshing.
Would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed at the Saddle for one night to attend the nearby beer festival. Miserable weather but the warmth of our hosts made up for it. A lovely sized room, not some horrible little box, and a very comfortable bed. Extra bedding in the cupboard we just had to ask if we needed anything else. For breakfast there were Craster kippers, a full English and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. A difficult decision to make but the kippers won and they were delicious. Our dog was made very welcome and there was plenty of room to put his bed. I'd always wanted to visit Alnmouth having only seen it from the train and wasn't disappointed. A walk on the beach before heading home sealed a very pleasant stay. We shall be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very friendly helpfull owners, good cooked breakfast, good pub food very nearby, the Sun Inn was where we ate on our stay exellent menu and food, all in all a lovely holiday by the sea. Oh and very pet friendly as we took our small dog.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Saddle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25, Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast on the main street near to the church in the lovely coastal village of Alnmouth. We have a residents' lounge with snacks, fresh milk and other beverages. We also have a small car park to the rear. We have 8 en-suite rooms all with tea/coffee facilities, central heating, flat screen TV/DVD/Ipods. We have a secure area for bicycles, cater for Vegetarians and packed lunches are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Saddle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saddle Bed And Breakfast Alnmouth, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saddle Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.