We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights in Camp Bastion, sorry the Schooner Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Schooner Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Schooner Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Schooner Hotel
8 Northumberland Street | Alnmouth, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Northwich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Three nights in Camp Bastion, sorry the Schooner Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in September 2012 and have to say that it is the worst accomodation we have ever experienced. Our room was number 20, all the furniture had a layer of dust and the carpet was filthy. The bathroom fan did not work, the panel onthe side of the bath was broken and hanging off, the bathroom room door stuck really badly when closed and had to be forced open. Several of the tablecloths in the breakfast room were stained and had crumbs on them from previous days. The serving staff at breakfast were obviously not trained properly and some of them were only arriving for work after the meal had started.There was no car parking only in the road outside and as there were very few spaces, the car had to be parked several streets away. The hotel was generally very tired and decrepit looking and very poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    69
    33
    30
    32
See reviews for
40
90
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After reading trip advisor reviews before leaving I was going with an open mind. As I had to book at the last minute and I had a dog I didn't have much choice.
Upon arrival I booked in and was told very briefly where the room was. Rooms not well sign posted. The corridor was very dark and the lock was very hard to see, even when I got my glasses out. When my daughter and I went to bed we then realised we had been given a room above the bar which was very noisy until the bar closed. Had to watch the t.v. but when the noise died down and we were nice and warm , we had to get out of bed to switch the t.v. off as we had no remote control. During the night after eventually getting off to sleep (hard mattress & pillows) we were woken by people running down the corridor in the early hours. My daughter commented that it reminded her of university halls!
I think the room was supposed to be have been re-furnished recently but it was a bit of a half hearted effort. If we had put any pressure on the towel rail in the bathroom it would have come off the wall, the light above the bathroom sink did not work and the main light in the bathroom was very poor. No good for ladies wanting apply make up! The water in the bathroom was luke warm so having a shower was not very nice. Didn't hang around!
Breakfasts ok if you want cereal, toast or cooked English. No fruit, yoghurt etc.
Would not return. Very overpriced for my 2 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at The Schooner on 24/25 August. We arrived to a chilly welcome and were shown to a ground floor family room, next to the gents toilets, which were stinking! The room was shabby and it had been refurbished. However they were happy to move us to another family room on the second floor, to find the shower broken in that room. To be fair to them they did sort it the following day and allowed us to use the room adjacent for the shower.
Rooms were clean but could be a whole lot better.
I stayed at The Schooner 6 years ago and although it needed refurbished then, The Landlord and Land Lady were so friendly and warm, the accommodation didnt matter, they made you feel so welcome. back then the food was amazing too.
Breakfast is served in a new dining area, which is nice, but, again really unwelcoming and you feel like your eating your breakfast in a doctors waiting room, people are afraid to talk its so quiet. Breakfast is awful, but your safe with toast!
Alnwick and Alnmouth are beautiful and The Schooner could be a lot better. They are trying to make it better on a shoe string and thats never going to work!

Room Tip: Dont pick a ground floor room unless you want to be close to the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having chosen to visit Alnmouth and seen the ghostly Schooner online, I was intrigued. Accommodation was mostly full in the town but The Schooner had vacancies so we booked for one night. As with any property of several hundred years of age, it needs maintenance and the public areas looked a bit tired, However, the room where we slept was tidy, clean and sported a king size bed which was extremely comfortable. The daytime staff seemed busy but polite and attended as & when requested. The evening staff were far more attentive and offered much information about the history of the premises. We both slept very well and no ghostly happenings disturbed us, (I sort of wished we'd experienced something out of the ordinary, but was grateful for the rest!)

Breakfast seemed rushed, disorganised and quite undercooked (slimy white all over fried egg, undercooked bacon, no mushrooms left and black pudding missing). Hubby's pot of tea was like dishwater even after waiting for it to brew, which spoilt his morning.

An interesting experience but don't think we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We popped into The Schooner for a drink wilst stopping in Alnmouth this weekend. It is quite a large place and there didn't seem to be much atmosphere in the bar, but most people did seem to be outside in the garden which looked like a nice sun trap. We ended up staying for a few drinks and having a meal mainly because it had Sky TV and the football was on.

My overall impression of the building was that it could really do with a good clean and refurbishing. Judging from the bar area I would not like to spend the night at this hotel. We both ordered Fish and chips from the very grubby menu and I have to admit our expectations were very low. We were however very pleasantly surprised as the food was in fact very good, tastey and excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 18th August and booked at 5pm as we'd had a lovely afternoon in Alnmouth on the way back from a wedding and decided to make a weekend of it. As there was only 1 room left I booked it through its own website. At £85 it was more than we'd intended to spend but the rooms looked nice. We stayed in room 9 and it looked nothing like any of their pictures. Very basic, shabby and very dated decor. The Window was wedged open with cardboard and there was no shower in the bathroom as the hose and showerhead had been removed. I asked if we could move to another room with a shower but there were no others left. The room was clean on the surface but the corners were all filthy and there were cobwebs in the bathroom. The wc had a shredder which made a horrendous noise when used and somewhat disconcertingly water came up the plug hole in the sink every time the wc was flushed. The bed was comfy and the sheets and towels were clean but that's about the only positive thing I can say. Alnmouth is lovely however so we enjoyed all it had to offer and will make sure we check trip advisor before being so impulsive again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant stay in a beautiful place with attentive staff. There is much going on at the Schooner and I will certainly be going back to sample their hospitality. If you've never been to Alnmouth you are missing out !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooner Hotel

Address: 8 Northumberland Street | Alnmouth, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel
Alnmouth Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel Alnmouth, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Schooner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.