We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant As Always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westlea Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westlea Guest House
Save
You added Westlea Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Riverside Road, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2SD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant As Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife Pat and I recently returned home from our third visit to Westlea. As before we were warmly greeted by Janice who with her son Paul an outstanding chef owns, and run's Westlea. Westlea guest house is of the very highest standard in all respects, very clean and comfortable with food to die for. The location close to the river and estuary with excellent views, and walks is ideal for a gentle stroll after a beautiful evening meal Or can be enjoyed whilst relaxing with after dinner coffee in the first floor lounge with balcony. Janice is always on hand with in depth knowledge and sound advice about the locality to help you plan your visits during your stay at the lovely village of Alnmouth. We have no hesitation in recommending Westlea Guest House and have done so on numerous occasions.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire Moorlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

May 2012 along with 8 friends we picked the time the weather finally improved. 4 Mg's set off from Holmes Chapel in Cheshire for Alnmouth and the Westlea guest house our base for our annual 5 day road run. We had researched the Westlea so we expected it to be good. It was brilliant. Clean, welcoming loads of information to hand, a sun terrace and room to park. Rooms well up to standard and a superb guest lounge to wind down in the evening.The staff Wendy, Joy and Eleanor as well as proprietor Janice were great nothing too much trouble and plenty of witty banter.
That just leaves the food. The owners son Paul is the chef. A very shy fellow we never clapped eyes on him. But cook. We had four great evening meals at this hotel. 1st class ingredients and presentation that would put half the TV chefs in the shade. The choice at breakfast extensive try the Compote its a treat. Follow that with a full English and your set for the day. On Sunday Night we had Roast Beef with Yorkshires with all the trimmings. The beef was the best i can remember. Go there and enjoy but be prepared to diet when you gat home.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, Family rooms are of good size. Guest lounge with sun balcony very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Warm greeting at 3.30pm on a blustery day for 2 weary cyclists !!. Janice went the extra mile to help us sort out our evening meal . Rang 5 local restaurants to find fresh fish for our meal. The Sun Inn came up trumps !!
One resident had a Birthday to remember at breakfast , when she was presented with a small sparkling birthday cake & we all sang for her !!! A nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Janice is a true gem. She was so welcoming from the booking to our leaving. Nothing was any bother she could't of been more helpful. The bed and breakfast doesn't really have a website so I was abit nervous as I like to get a feel for were I am staying. The guest house is overlooking an estuary, unforunately we had a back view room, which was fine for the time we were there. The room is small but expectionally clean and had all the facilities you would need. Even a hot water bottle is supplied. Beakfast was very efficient and the food was excellent.
Book without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had no trouble arranging breakfast for 8am (we were walking the coastal path) but Janice declined our evening meal booking. We ate at the the Hope and Anchor, and in Warkworth (Topsey Turvey's). Check the Westlea tariff before booking, as the web info is misleading. Janice is lovely and made endless efforts to confirm party meal bookings ahead, and check bus times.

Room Tip: Aln View is ground floor, with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful river estuary - surely the best room in the house and we loved the drama of the sunrise and sunset. Very helpful and friendly host who went to lots of trouble suggesting places to eat but Alnmouth is very small and it was a quiet time of the year and we found more choice with a short trip to Alnwick. Perfect for walking on the beaches, birdwatching and photography, well fuelled with a huge breakfast. Wonderful views from the lounge too

Room Tip: Check whether or not you're in the attic rooms, which are roomy enough but limited view of river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I concur with all the good reviews that have gone before. This is one of the nicest guest houses we have styed in, in the UK. Janice was a delight, our room was fabulous, and the sitting room amazing for a small guest house. We loved the situation. Our only complaint was that we did not have time to stay longer.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor overlooking the estuary is great and to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlea Guest House

Address: 29 Riverside Road, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Westlea Guest House Hotel Alnmouth
Westlea Guest House Alnmouth, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westlea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.