We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cosy tea room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Tearoom Alnmouth

The Village Tearoom Alnmouth
Northumberland St, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
+44 1665 830310
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We provide, a good selection of freshly made sandwiches, toasties etc, Homemade Cakes, Scones, pies, quiches, Fresh Crab sandwiches, Salads, Afternoon Teas, Cream Teas and a good selection of Gluten Free Cakes and soups.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great cosy tea room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stopped off here after a long cycle ride down the coast. Visited by chance as it looked inviting from the outside and wasn't disappointed once we got in. Exactly as a tea room should be cosy and traditional. Great service and food. 3 of us had cream teas - fantastic warm scones and really light and moist. Probably some of the nicest I've ever had. Remaining 2 of us had very large slices of cake - no complaints there. Seemed to be very good value. The afternoon tea menu looked to be good (esp at £9.95) so will plan a trip back to sample that when we are back in the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
h
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visited the Tearoom for the fist time in several years. There has been a redecoration/change around (for the better) since last time - approx. 2010.

Good value light lunch and prompt service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Visited on a recent stay in the area based on trip advisor reviews. Chocka when we arrived but got a table after a 5 min wait! Staff we're attentive despite being rushed off their feet. Was not disappointed with the crab sandwich I'd been craving-in fact the best I've had on the Northumberland coast! Will definitely return next time I'm in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“couldn't fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The last café before the seafront (on the left of Northumberland Street) Lovely welcome and super lattes, nice and hot. It's surprising how many cafe's can't even manage to ensure their drinks are hot these days !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

After being run ragged by the kids on the beach we were in desperate need of refreshments. Opted to enter this little cafe as it permitted dogs inside. How refreshing to find a lovely cafe that we don't have to sit outside shivering whilst we rush our food. We ordered an afternoon tea which was served on China tea set. Food was lovely and the enormous slices of cake were divine. Top it off the staff were very helpful and friendly. Great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Village Tearoom Alnmouth also viewed

 
Alnmouth, Alnwick
 

Been to The Village Tearoom Alnmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Tearoom Alnmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.