We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
View of Alnmouth
View of Alnmouth
View of Alnmouth
Lounge
Kitchen
Entrance Hall
Bedroom 1 En-Suite
Alnmouth
|
Rental Home – 
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sian C
Wolviston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Homely and Well Equipped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed at Sefton House for a long weekend to celebrate a friends hen party. The house was superb, very well equipped and cosy. 14 of us stayed in this large house which was ideally located for walks along the beach and trips to local towns. The house had wifi and an ipod docking station, a large table where we could all sit together and a log burner which made it extra cosy. This house is ideal for any type of gathering and I would thoroughly recommend it.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ChrisGee7...
Barnsley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A "Great Place" by the Sea for family and friend get-togethers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

This house has plenty of room to fit all of your friends in. The communal spaces were enough for people to move around and sit. All the rooms were occupied at least on one of the days and there still felt plenty of room. The only issue we had was we couldn't switch the heating off so we had all the windows open!
Apart from that we would definitely go back and recommend to others if we need to have another large gatherign of family and friends.
The lcation is very handy for the beach and the various pubs, cafes and restaurants in the village. Parking was on street but you could always get a space, not necessarily outside the door.
Simone Neri, the owner of the property was very freindly and helpful. You will be safe in her hands!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location to amenities and fitting everyone in.
Liked least: No outdoor space was definitely a drawback, but then you did have the beach!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jane M B
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a very dog friendly area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very comfortable house. Ideally located in a quiet street only a few minutes from the main street, shops, hotels and the wonderful Alnmouth beach.

The house is very well equipped and comfortably furnished.

Everything thought of. There is nothing worse than going to use the dishwasher and there are no tablets. This is what I always find in rented accommodation. Not here. It's this kind of small detail which makes the owner of Sefton House considerate and a good host.

Northumberland is a lovely part of the world and SO dog friendly.

Would return to both Alnmouth and Sefton House.

5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Dining Room tight if house is full
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Caroline...
Lichfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation for all ages - perfect house in a perfect location with an owner who can not do enough to help.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week away at Sefton House for a family celebration. The house is in a perfect location - 5 minutes walk to the beach,sea and estuary, 5 minutes walk to a lovely playground for young children, and 3 minute walk into the village with lovely pubs, a post office, well stocked general store and gift shop. The house is also very well situated for sightseeing this beautiful area - we went to Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle, Alnwick Castle and Gardens, numerous beautiful beaches, Dunstanburgh Castle and Cragside. We ran out of time and will have to return to do the rest!
The house itself was as described in the details - we travelled with grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, two 2 year olds and a beautiful 9 week old baby - the house was extremely well equipped and catered for our every need. Simone was friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Two travel cots were provided along with high chairs and various other baby equipment that we needed. The older children loved having the triple bedroom on the top floor and their was plenty of space for everyone. The house is also very well sound proofed - it was hard to believe there were so many of us there! It is well decorated, the showers were lovely and there was plenty of hot water for everyone. Beds were comfortable, towels were plentiful, kitchen was well stocked for catering for large numbers - very difficult to fault. Would definitely recommend.
Thank you to Simone for a truly memorable 40th birthday at Sefton House!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the cooker took a while to warm up
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Muzza1979
South Shields
1 review
“Amazing accomodation - absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I stayed at this property with 11 colleagues so we could have a relaxed location for our management offsite (Nike UK/Ireland) - all I can say is WOW!

Sefton House is huge, immaculately decorated/furnished and just perfect in every way for any sized group.

The living room, dining room and kitchen on the ground floor are very spacious but have a lovely cosy feel to them too - the living room especially just relaxes you as soon as you walk in. We found both the living room and dining room ideal locations to work during the day and then chill out in on the evenings.

All of the bedrooms are beautifully presented with bathroom facilities on all floors. My bed was so comfortable I really didnt want to get out of it on a morning!

Simone Neri (the owner) is one of the most pleasant and friendliest peoiple I have had the pleasure of meeting - she made the whole booking process so easy from start to finish. We were left a couple of bottles of wine and chocolates on our arrival which was a really lovely touch. I recieved a call within half an hour of arrival to check everything was ok as well as a personal visit as we were leaving to again make sure we had enjoyed our stay.

Book this accomodation for an inspiring working location or a perfect relaxing break with family or friends - fantastic in every way!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
clairejen...
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic House!!!We will be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

What can I say........................FANTASTIC house for our large group and equipped with everything we needed.......could not have asked for anything more!!All the rooms were lovely, plenty of parking & most importantly, a stones throw from the gorgeous beach!!!We will be back again soon!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cheffany
Mobberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful House, Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

What a lovely lovely weekend! We went as a large extended family group aged from 2 to 72, and everyone had such a brilliant time.
The house is gorgeous and so well suited to large groups, well appointed, everything we needed. All bedrooms and bathrooms were great.
The trip was for a special birthday for someone and they said it was beyond what they hoped it would be, so special.
The beach is just 2 minutes walk away and spectacularly beautiful, wellies and scarves for paddles and walks.

A very special property for celebrating with friends and family, could not recommend more highly.

Simone was so very helpful and went the extra mile to make it perfect for us, Thank you, thank you!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the happy feeling in the house
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$452
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Simone N
44 01665 833174
Speaks English
Listed since : Nov 2010
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing