We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland

The Sun Inn  Alnmouth  Northumberland
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland
Save
You added The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland to your Saves list
29 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

How refreshing to walk through the door to be greeted by a cheery hello! Too often pubs and restaurants take our visits for granted, which is quite funny considering we're the paying customers!

The Sun in Alnmouth provides a lovely ambience with a real fire, good food and friendly service, so all in all, excellent hospitality. I rarely eat pub food without a recommendation, so it was a gamble when we ordered food; however, we were pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed our lunch.

I would certainly recommend The Sun as a friendly pub that serves very good pub food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

10 ladies booked in for a meal at The Sun Inn. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and regulars
One of our group has special dietary needs and the chef immediately introduced himself to her and organised her meal He had bought certain items especially for her
The menu catered for everyone and it was great value for money We returned for Sunday lunch which was excellent
Just want to thank everyone at the Sun Inn we had a brilliant evening and may be back next year

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow,England
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We called into The Sun Inn as our first choice was full, so glad we did. We were instantly made to feel welcome, two adults, one child and a feisty Chihauhau. Our order was taken promptly and the food arrived, hot, plentiful and flavoursome. There was a delay getting our sweet, but that was explained to us as the kitchen was very busy, and to be honest it gave us time to digest our mains. A meal for three of us came to £50 including drinks and tips, given the quality of the food i thought it was excellent value for money. As we left we were given a genuine, cheery good bye, a nice touch, i am sure we will return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had a wonderful night's stay at the Sun Inn, Alnmouth. Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, cosy bar for a good pint, and a great full English in the morning. No car park but plenty of on street parking close by.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed in the Sun Inn during a walking break in Northumberland and I can only describe it as a total gem of a place. Beautiful village, breathtaking surroundings and a wonderful place to stay. The rooms and en-suite facilities are spotlessly clean, the food is just superb. I had a prawn and spaghetti dish with cheese and chilli sauce from the 'Specials Board' on one night and the word 'special' just doesn't do the dish justice..it was exquisite. Bren, the landlord and his staff can't do enough to help you and the hospitality is second to none. Will I go again?....you bet! Will I tell my friends?....in time because I don't want it to get too booked up and deny myself the chance to re-visit!! It's a total gem. You really won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our 4th golf trip to Northumberland and 3rd stay at the Sun Inn. Once again made to feel very welcome and well looked after with excellent food and drink. Rooms continue to be spotlessly clean and breakfasts as good as they get. Landlord and Landlady supported by friendly staff are a credit and run the best establishment in the town!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at the Sun Inn. Our room was small, with no wardrobe, and nowhere to sit other than the bed. Glasses were provided, but no bottle of water - and as it wasn't en suite we had to trek down the corridor to our bathroom to get water from the tap. Not ideal. We had reserved a table to eat in the pub that evening. The main bar looked lovely, very cosy, with candles, a fire etc; but when we arrived at the appointed time we were led round the corner to a rather sterile and small area crammed with three tables adjacent to the toilet. Every time the door opened, a whiff of bleach mingled with the aroma of our food. The food was fine and good value, as was the breakfast. But -despite the admittedly friendly service - the cost outstripped the quality the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger, ensuite room, and ask if you can eat in the main bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland

Address: 29 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland Hotel Alnmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.