We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland

The Sun Inn  Alnmouth  Northumberland
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland
Save
You added The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland to your Saves list
29 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Total Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed in the Sun Inn during a walking break in Northumberland and I can only describe it as a total gem of a place. Beautiful village, breathtaking surroundings and a wonderful place to stay. The rooms and en-suite facilities are spotlessly clean, the food is just superb. I had a prawn and spaghetti dish with cheese and chilli sauce from the 'Specials Board' on one night and the word 'special' just doesn't do the dish justice..it was exquisite. Bren, the landlord and his staff can't do enough to help you and the hospitality is second to none. Will I go again?....you bet! Will I tell my friends?....in time because I don't want it to get too booked up and deny myself the chance to re-visit!! It's a total gem. You really won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our 4th golf trip to Northumberland and 3rd stay at the Sun Inn. Once again made to feel very welcome and well looked after with excellent food and drink. Rooms continue to be spotlessly clean and breakfasts as good as they get. Landlord and Landlady supported by friendly staff are a credit and run the best establishment in the town!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at the Sun Inn. Our room was small, with no wardrobe, and nowhere to sit other than the bed. Glasses were provided, but no bottle of water - and as it wasn't en suite we had to trek down the corridor to our bathroom to get water from the tap. Not ideal. We had reserved a table to eat in the pub that evening. The main bar looked lovely, very cosy, with candles, a fire etc; but when we arrived at the appointed time we were led round the corner to a rather sterile and small area crammed with three tables adjacent to the toilet. Every time the door opened, a whiff of bleach mingled with the aroma of our food. The food was fine and good value, as was the breakfast. But -despite the admittedly friendly service - the cost outstripped the quality the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger, ensuite room, and ask if you can eat in the main bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent little pub in the heart of Alnmouth. Warm welcome and superb food. Well worth a visit. We thought about having fish but ended up with the burger which was absolutely wonderful. Chips equally as good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timperley,Cheshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited Alnmouth again this year and the kids immediately clamoured for a trip to the Sun which had been the start point of our last holiday

So once again we visited after picking up the keys for the cottage we were renting

You have to get used to the price of beer in these parts, £3.50 for Black Sheep which is what I would pay in Manchester City centre rather than my cheaper local but this is pretty much across the board in all the Alnmouth pubs

We ate in the pub and the food was good but lacked the wow factor of the last time we visited.

It felt like the pub was going through the motions rather than trying to provide tip top customer service where we would perhaps have stayed for a couple more drinks rather than returning to our cottage via a trip to the supermarket/off licence in Alnwick

Perhaps I am being Uber Critical or perhaps this is down to the fact we have been before

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights 26-27th August with a double bed room and the family room both had a nice en-suite bathroom. As the kitchen was quite small there was not a large selection on the menu but for anybody else it would be absolutely fine because it looks delicious but having a fussy sister meant we had to eat somewhere else. We had a peaceful nights sleep but had to keep the window closed because of the noise downstairs but you cannot stop that at a local pub at 9pm ( we were very tired) ! I had a good sleep and the bed was comfy , Breakfast was at 9am and it was beautiful if was sufficient to last all day which is awesome ! My only grudge is the Landlord did not make us welcome but the other staff did they were super friendly and liked to make funny jokes which was good My favorite was calling us the Von Trap Family as there was 8 of us. The second night we asked the Landlord if we could have Breakfast at 8:30am as we had planned a trip over to the Farne Islands which I must say if you are ever down there its worth the money to go over as it's a stunning place and good for keen photographers. The Landlord replied no which was outrageous and left my Dad slightly annoyed ( I stayed away from him for the next couple of hours ) ! So we then commenced to ask the lovely Geordie chef who was amazing with us the 1st morning and he agreed to let us down at 8:30. W arrived back form our trip to Alnwick Castle to find our room's beautifully clean with new towels and more biscuits !

Wonderful stay but shame about the attitude of the Landlord.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Myself my partner Ash and dog Calli have just spent one wonderful night in this little retreat! We managed to get a cancellation and we were over the moon with the whole experience. After a two and a half hour walk along the idyllic beaches with Calli, we went back to the lovely room, then had a really nice meal down stairs in the pub which had a fab, warm atmosphere, nicest burger ever, delicious home made fishcakes, great bottle of red. Calli came too which was great, so so relaxed. Woke up to the highest quality breakfast ever served by a couple of gents with fantastic personalities, Calli even got her own sausage!! Just perfect..... Cant wait to go back with the kids, get yourself up there..xx Ashton and Wendy, Whickham

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland

Address: 29 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland Hotel Alnmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.