We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

The Red Lion Inn
22 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RJ, England
+44 (0)1665 830584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Was looking for somewhere to eat near the a1 and saw the reviews and made the short detour. It seemed so welcoming that we decided to ask if they had a room and made a night of it. Very happy with the food (Steak and Ale pie and I had a larger portion of the Salmon linguine, and a wickedly good brownie) Breakfast was great, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, fresh fruit salad, good coffee. The staff were so friendly and helpful , even warning us to check for flooding before we set off in the morning.
The rooms are very nicely furnished , lovely style but with some character -but can the tray table have padded edges, I have a huge bruise from unsuccessfully squeezing past it ;) Bedding, towels all seem very nice quality, much better than average B and B.
I would thoroughly recommend this establishment for dinner, a cosy drink , or a very good B and B.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    101
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great pub food and fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The pub has a great dining room next to the bar. The fillet steak was excellent - cooked to perfection. Service was really good too - a young team and enthusiastic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timperley,Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy, Great Beer Selection and the Food appeared hearty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Didn't enjoy my trip to the Red Lion 12 months previously so I was a little apprehensive

We had 2 visits during our week in Alnmouth this time and I was pleasantly surprised

We didn't actually eat but all of the people around us who were doing so seemed to be enjoying themselves

We were made to feel welcome as were our children, there were also dog walkers, ramblers and other couple/families in the pub

Good beer selection (a little pricey but par for the course in these parts if you excuse the golfing pun)

Would love to visit on a cold winter's night to see what it's like

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Visited here with my family and had a lovely evening. The food was of excellent quality and well presented. The restaurant was fairly intimate with nice decor, exposed brickwork and a feature wall of terracotta. Music played quietly in the background to create a lovely atmosphere. We all loved the food including our twelve year old who enjoyed the sausage and mash. My husband raved over the Steak and Ale pie and my burger was delicious. The waiter was friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend this place and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We only planned to visit Alnmouth once on our visit to Northumberland this year but had to return to a second consecutive day so we could sample more of the food available at the Red Lion Inn.

It's a relaxed pub where you can easily spend a few hours chatting over great food!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion Inn also viewed

 
Alnmouth, Alnwick
Alnmouth, Alnwick
 

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.