We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Number 1, Staithes

Staithes
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trish C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Seasons greetings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I have been lucky enough to enjoy the experience of this lovely cottage, in both summer and winter. The sun room has fantastic views of the sea and is beautiful whatever the weather. My little boy loved the beach and I would highly recommend fish and chips and a pint in the local pub. I'm looking forward to our next visit in May. We hope to see Gary the seagull too!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The walk back from the pub, quite steep.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ND_Sheffi...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views from lovely sunny lounge and balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Fantastic place for a winter break, Staithes is so peaceful at this time of year and the locals make you feel really welcome Nice cosy cottage with plenty of space and a welcome coal fire. Cottage has everything you need layout is very unusual with spiral staircase connecting three floors. Arrived Friday night in the dark and it was such a joy to wake up and be able to look out over the sea from the sun lounge.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
145cumbri...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Village - Stunning view but..Cottage needs a little TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Spent a really nice week in and around Staithes. The village itself is quaint and the little beach is lovely. The cottage has stunning views, one of the best in the village in my opinion. The living rooms are fine and the loft space is ideal for children - the coal fire is great also. Unfortunately the downstairs rooms smelt quite strongly of damp. If I had paid full price for the cottage I would have complained. I think the owner should take 1 or 2 weeks break from renting to sort the problem out, at one point I was removing woodlice from the pillow! The 3pm arrival and 10am departure time is a little mean also, I don't think it took 5 hours for the cottage to be cleaned before we got there and we were rushing to leave in time on the Friday.
I mean this to be constructive, not negative and I would have given this cottage 5 stars - we still enjoyed the holiday and the cottage apart from the above points.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view and the nearby beaches
Liked least: The smell of damp
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we're glad you enjoyed your time there - the views are spectacular! - and thank you for the feedback which we'll get dealt with straight away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,047
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Manager
Bob Clements (Property Manager Yorkshire Coastal Cottages)
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2013
Calendar Updated: 76 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this manager is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing