We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Endeavour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Endeavour to your Saves list
The Endeavour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High Street, Staithes TS13 5BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staithes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very welcoming, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this little gem in the heart of Staithes. The place has recently been refurbished to a high standard and the highly enthusiastic owner Dave, made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean with fresh crisp linen and we were glad to have real milk in the room (no UHT milk here, unlike most other places we've visited).

If you are visiting Staithes for the day, the restaurant is well worth a visit. We ate there the first night and were pleasantly surprised at the high quality, cooked to perfection fish dishes. If we are in the area again, we will certainly visit the restaurant again - amazing! Thank you Dave and Debbie for a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ate here during our stay in Staithes. The place has recently had a complete make over and is a welcome addition to the choice of eateries in Staithes. We were made very welcome the minute we stepped through the door. The whole place is spotless and the food and service were fantastic. would definitiely recommend for a special occasion or just a nice evening out. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

wow, we have just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay, this place is the centre of a sleepy village, close to everything, well worth the money paid, the bedrooms are spacious, clean, and close to everything, we were a party of 2 adults and a child, and stayed in the top room, the views were spectacular, from walking in to the room, crisp linen bed sheets, no expense spared, large room, comfy beds. we met the owner david who has renovated the building, and done a grand job. We ate in the restaurant on our second night, the food was fabulous, well worth the extra that we got charged for the pub food we had on our first night, would recommend the beef stroganoff, and lobster. Have booked again , and can not wait to return have booked again. A little gem that we would recommend to close friends. can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: pick the top room, fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

There are a number of places to eat in Staithes and all are pretty good. However if you are celebrating or looking for a special treat whilst in the area then look no further.
Whilst at the top end, nevertheless the restaurant offers good value with top quality locally sourced meat and fish.
The wine list is small but perfectly formed - we had the Barbera which was very good.
We haven't seen the accommodation, living as we do in the village most of the time, but I am told it is to a high standard.
I understand it is the proprietors first restaurant, so well done Dave, you got it right first time!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed 31/7 for two nights after aborting a stay in Scarborough at the last minute - good move!

Re-opened as a new venture by David Linley this establishment has a great location at the very heart of picturesque Staithes. Redecorated to agood standard the top floor room is sizwable and enjoys a great sea view. Tea/coffee facilities were provided as were earplugs (seagulls 24/7!!) Prices are not cheap for B&B but breakfast is very good and linen/towels etc. all high quality. One small grous is that our room was not serviced at all after our first night which I would have expected if only to check toiletries/loo paper etc.

David was a very welcoming host who went out of his way to impart local knowlede of walks, pubs,shops. You cannot park down in the village except to unload. Good secure parking available up the hill at Glenvale for £5 per night.

We had dinner in the restaurant on our second night and the food was excellent - both fish and steak. Again not cheap and there were not very many diners. We hope David and his excellent chef make a success of this venture but have concerns about whther he will be able to attract the right level of clientele in sufficient numbers. The local pubs serve pretty good standard food at lower prices and while Endeavour has a much higher food and service it still need to pull in enough people - lets hope so as we would love to be able to return here.

Bset of luck to David and his team on this new venture

Room Tip: Top room is more expensive but has a sea view - worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The new owner took over in May and has carried out an extensive renovation. Our room was newly decorated and immaculate. It was in a loft conversion so had a sloping ceiling - but it was large, had character and benefitted from a good sea view. The food was excellent fresh local seafood, beautifully prepared and well presented by a very good chef. There is still some work in progress so it is only likely to get better. Not the cheapest - but fair value for good quality in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a wonderful meal for 3 people. The owner was very attentive and knowledgeable about the area. The wines were perfect. The business has recently been taken over by David and he has renovated the building to a very high standard. The chef is French and the foods are locally sourced. We wish them well and will return

Room Tip: we did not stay here as we had a cottage in the village, but we hope to stay in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Endeavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Endeavour

Address: 1 High Street, Staithes TS13 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staithes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Endeavour 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms offers Accommodation on a Bed & Breakfast basis. The Restaurant /Bistro is independently run and dinner bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Endeavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Endeavour Hotel Staithes
Endeavour Hotel Staithes
The Endeavour Staithes, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Endeavour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.